News
Latest News
Pending Reviews
Submit maps
Back to MPQ Archive
Back to Pauked.com
Please note this site is provided just for fun, it's not meant to be fully functional...

Reviews
(8) Bovine Intervention
(34) Hatebreeder
(6) Evil spacehamste...
(6) Unnamed (remix o...
(14) The Limbo Of Bro...
(3) WerdDM2 - Crania...
(30) Old Crater
(10) MisDM12 - Terra ...
(4) The Ravage II
(28) Daedalus Revisited
Last 4 weeks (name)
Last 4 weeks (date)

Comments
Last 25 posts

Articles
Links
Rants
Interviews
#terrafusion stats

Archives
By Map Name
By Author
By Score
By Date
News Archive

Search
Reviews

Top 10s
Best Maps
Worst Maps

Site
Contact & Help!
Comments/Suggestions
Account
Stats
View User List






[Get Opera!]

Daedalus Revisited (1v1 - 4-8 FFA)
Comments (28) Go to top of page  
Biff0r! Biff Debris returns with a new masterpiece for all to behold. "Daedalus re-visited" is a stunning piece of work, an ultra detailed and superbly lit idbase textured map that restores my (and many other peoples) faith in the idbase texture set. Gorgeous curved adorn the multi-tiered map and cool spotlights reach up the impressive architecture, it truely is a joy to behold.

Gameplay is fantastic, and I am able to speak 1st hand about this, thanks to RPG's custom map server. All areas of the map are used brilliantly, with a superb 3d element to the gameplay, just the right amount of weapons and armour even out the playing field. And the only true advantage you can get over your opponents is height, it counts for a lot in this map.

Added cool touches are little holes in lifts that you can pop grenades through to spam the people below, and a nice quad secret that took me a while to find (to the amusement of Cardo and Biff...).

One sentence to sum this monster up : GET IT NOW! :)

DaZ

Download Here (455Kb)
Biff Debris
Author Site
Reviewed : 20/03/2002

#1 biff
by killjoy 20/03/2002 - 18:21:43 (169.233.30.238)
Go to top of page  
this map r0x0rs

#2 I liked it
by blackpope 21/03/2002 - 05:05:56 (66.183.161.180)
Go to top of page  
I loved this map, aswell as the q2 vers that it originally was intended to be but shall probably never be released :D

One thing the R_speeds get st00pidly high at points. While this isn't a problem with me, I'm just curious as to how much R_speeds affect reviews and their relative scores these days. Apparently not Much :D

Again... great map Biff...

#3 Gom Jabbar couldn't be arsed with a title
by Gom Jabbar 21/03/2002 - 05:56:49 (212.185.248.121)
Go to top of page  
Really nice one Biff!

I just hope being able to kick my workmates ass during lunchbreak in Dadaelus Revisited today. Playing versus bots is so unsatisfying...

#4 RPG's server
by Krille 21/03/2002 - 09:00:35 (217.208.244.133)
Go to top of page  
How do i play on it?

#5 Hey!...
by Drannerz 21/03/2002 - 09:19:52 (143.52.2.90)
Go to top of page  
...how come the biff-meister gets to jump the que? It's favouritism like this that makes me BIFF!

This map is totally sweet! Excellent detail and highly intricate layout. I like the lift buttons being on the floor, it seems so logical and works so well, how come I didn't think of it? I found it hard to pick up the MH without excess camping.
I'm puzzled by the secret teleporter. You shoot this pannel, go through a teleporter and end up in this little room. I looked around expecting to find a pent or quad or something...but no, it's just a little room. Is that the quad secret you reffered to DaZ? How come I didn't have a quad? I just had a little room. I mean, okay, little rooms are fun (It had these bits on the floor that move and some stuff on the ceiling and things) but it was just a little room. No Quad! Just a room! A stupid small room with me in it looking like a loner and having no friends! Jesus!

#6 obviously...
by raptorE 21/03/2002 - 11:05:35 (66.69.174.58)
Go to top of page  
Were you playing alone? Maybe someone got the quad before you did.

#7 wh00page!
by CardO 21/03/2002 - 13:18:45 (62.253.64.4)
Go to top of page  
once again congrats on an excellent map biff :) i enjoyed every second of testing and playing the map. It's amazing to see how much u developed it from ur q2 version. spoogage. i wub it!! :D

#8 r_speeds and reviews
by Paul 21/03/2002 - 14:30:01 (172.186.21.40) Refers to post #2
Go to top of page  
Unless there is noticable slowdown then I don't usually check r_speeds. Although I did with this map due to the excessive use of curves :D. I assume that people aren't running Quake on P160's with 4Mb Voodoo's anymore. Machines now can handle higher than what we'd call normal r_speeds.

#9 Pizza Pies
by Asaki 21/03/2002 - 15:26:22 (12.245.143.191)
Go to top of page  
Nice usage of my textures =) I still think it needs a LIT file, though =D

#10 Ultra-SEXY
by ProdigyXL 21/03/2002 - 16:27:29 (141.209.216.30)
Go to top of page  
Yes yes, this map is indeed ultra-sexy. Good work on every bit, lighting, balance, texturing, the whole nine yards. Great map man, awesome.

#11 Looks cool
by MasterMind 22/03/2002 - 00:53:42 (12.229.175.36)
Go to top of page  
Yeah, what they said =). Are there any servers that play this map or any of the other maps here? I went to the quake.umassd.edu server and there is no one EVER there.

#12 Electro doesn't like titles
by Electro 22/03/2002 - 02:30:32 (210.50.112.51)
Go to top of page  
niiice

#13 "The little room"
by QMD 23/03/2002 - 03:44:37 (24.200.136.73)
Go to top of page  
This map is really fun to play. I played with ReaperBots (no sv_gravity 10 this time =) and I really enjoyed the game play. I wonder where we can go to the server you are talking about to play with folks on the Internet. Excessive curves makes it very sexy and as a beginner with WC (still learning ) I hope one day I can make cool spotlight and lights on those walls.

That little room, as Drannerz also said, suprised me but for me it was more the nice touch of making a door ( can't open it ) in that tinny little room. I specially liked have that RL and suddenly ReaperBots came in then Frag party bloody mary started in the little room hehe party time.

Biff, this map rocks man.

QMD.

#15 that room
by DaZ 23/03/2002 - 08:24:02 (62.6.74.64)
Go to top of page  
has a quad in it. I dunno why it aint there for you guys...

#16 Bozar couldn't be arsed with a title
by Bozar 24/03/2002 - 00:18:33 (212.46.200.76)
Go to top of page  
after some time quad stops to respawn with omicrons for me ;/

#17 omg
by Electro 24/03/2002 - 08:05:02 (203.134.131.13)
Go to top of page  
maybe that's because omicron sucks

#18 Thanks U Guys!
by biff_debris 25/03/2002 - 00:27:27 (12.93.208.43)
Go to top of page  
Thanks for all the great comments. It's true the thing has uber-high r_speeds, but since Drannerz released drandm7, I had hope that big beautiful maps now had a place in this venue -- and, judging from the responses here and elsewhere, a very nice one, at that. Thanks again =)

#19 fuck r_speeds :)
by DaZ 26/03/2002 - 05:03:17 (62.6.102.59)
Go to top of page  
nt

#20 Heh
by xen 26/03/2002 - 09:28:39 (194.117.133.196) Refers to post #19
Go to top of page  
'Fuck the r_speeds' - 2000, Bal

#21 r_speeds
by randyom 27/03/2002 - 08:11:21 (194.172.110.35) Refers to post #20
Go to top of page  
As promised *arghhh* I currently make a prototype for my first DM level I've ever made and I got rspeeds up to 1500. For my 5 years old computer it is no problem to play on this protoype.
Question : is r_speeds really no poblem anymore? I've tried several things but wide open area always increase the r_speeds........

#22 R_speeds
by DaZ 27/03/2002 - 18:46:00 (213.122.61.18)
Go to top of page  
...are only a problem on old PC's really. And if you have an old PC, j00 sux0r! :)

#23 no
by xen 27/03/2002 - 18:53:53 (194.117.133.196)
Go to top of page  
Always try to optimise them the best you can. Even if they run fine when walking around, the framerate might fall below acceptable level when in a hectic match.
The lower r_speeds you have the better, in all cases; it ain't all about looks y'know!

#24 Groovy
by Rotpig 28/03/2002 - 20:24:00 (203.54.182.175)
Go to top of page  
Great vertical map, however I do think the lighting lacks somewhat. There isn't enough contrast between light and dark areas which is what spotlights are supposed to do. R_speeds are definately very high, and they do affect gameplay with more players in a match. Like xen says, you MUST optimize a map as much as possible, so that it may be played well on many different machines.

#25 Rotpig!
by Paul @ Work 29/03/2002 - 07:40:26 (213.122.181.54) Refers to post #24
Go to top of page  
What have you been up to? Any more maps in the works?

#26 Whoa.
by Blitz 30/03/2002 - 03:05:54 (66.119.34.39)
Go to top of page  
This imp1dm6 thing is the MAAAD NOTE.

#27 Swedes are not Swedish.......
by Big_Ballz 31/03/2002 - 10:38:13 (195.92.168.173)
Go to top of page  
Nice Map, still looking for Quad tho

#28 Ouch...
by Rotpig 01/04/2002 - 09:27:24 (203.54.112.29)
Go to top of page  
Umm... I take back what i said about this map lacking in the lighting department. I've played it in software quake and it looks fantastic, with lots of contrast and effects. I think my screen brightness was up too high anyway :o)

Howdy Paul, been a while. I'd like to think i had some maps in the works, but im just not sure i can still come up with the goods. Many different ideas floating around, yet putting them into play is proving difficult. It's often difficult for me to be pleased with a layout and then build the map through to completion without chucking it in. (so so many factors to consider in mapping) Still, I am dabbling a little here and there and who knows what will come...

#31 Hmm
by Pure Imaginary 10/04/2002 - 02:25:42 (128.194.22.123)
Go to top of page  
It is mostly good aside from the fact that the Yellow Armor and Megahealth are a bit too close.

Add your Comments below. Go to top of page
Nick Name :
Email Address :
Refers to Post :
Title :
Comments :

MPQ Design by James Kable Healey.
CGI code by Paul Healey
CGI and Content Copyright Paul Healey 2001/2000/1999/1998
with the exception of reviews which are copyright of the author.
Design Copyright Kable Kreations 2001/2000