News
Latest News
Pending Reviews
Submit maps
Back to MPQ Archive
Back to Pauked.com
Please note this site is provided just for fun, it's not meant to be fully functional...

Reviews
(8) Bovine Intervention
(34) Hatebreeder
(6) Evil spacehamste...
(6) Unnamed (remix o...
(14) The Limbo Of Bro...
(3) WerdDM2 - Crania...
(30) Old Crater
(10) MisDM12 - Terra ...
(4) The Ravage II
(28) Daedalus Revisited
Last 4 weeks (name)
Last 4 weeks (date)

Comments
Last 25 posts

Articles
Links
Rants
Interviews
#terrafusion stats

Archives
By Map Name
By Author
By Score
By Date
News Archive

Search
Reviews

Top 10s
Best Maps
Worst Maps

Site
Contact & Help!
Comments/Suggestions
Account
Stats
View User List






[Get Opera!]

Hatebreeder (1-on-1)
Comments (34) Go to top of page  
Now listen up there, guys; THIS is how to make a quality map! As just one of the great Prolific Polish Quake Mapping Force (PPQMF), Qurnel has churned out many an excellent release over the past few years, this being his 20th released map, and that's not including the PlPak contributions! He ain't no Rocketman though, all of his maps have been of at least recommendable quality, many of them highly so. 'Hatebreeder' is undoubtedly his best release to date.

Why so, I hear you ask? It just excells in all fields; firstly, the style is one I have never seen before, combining the techy IKbase textures with ID's gloomy medieval brick, all executed very well. Some natural elements have been included too, such as the odd bit of rock and grass, which always makes for some interesting variety as well as providing a subtle touch of realism. The monotone texture combination is further enhanced by some lovely sourced lighting, which along with neat 'broken' wall sections, add to the overall detail level nicely. Architecture is nothing spectacular, but is nonetheless well constructed and neat, with good use of angles. There's also some crates if you're into that sort of thing.

Secondly, connectivity throughout the map is remarkably varied and hassle-free. Just about every area is overlooked by another and is accessible in various ways. Lifts and teleports are put to use well, and aerial leaping between ledges is common when running about the map. Rocket-jumpers can rejoice too, with trick-jumping often providing a nifty shortcut or two between floors. The verticality is at no point extreme, but many sections provide plenty of 3d gameplay, often putting the GL to great use. There are of course tighter, more enclosed rooms and corridors though, which provide extra balance between the available weapons. Good usage of dead-end sections has also been made to add further variety to the gameplay. Layout-wise, several have compared it to Peej's awesome 'Strafin' series, and although certain influences are recognisable, no areas are distinctively reminiscent.

Finally, the gameplay. Needless to say, 4 player FFA is a blast, taking into account the map's freely connected nature. Camping is near-impossible, and the large range of playing areas provokes plenty of different tactics and playing styles. 1on1 also excells, with remarkably balanced supplies and weaponary. The only noticable flaw is that it is quite possible to dominate both RLs, but seeing as the ground floor is usually most vulnerable, it is seldom a problem when the action heats up.

I know it's a high score, but the author has earned every last fraction of it. It's the icing on the cake that is Qurnel's map catalogue, and also stands as an excellent map in it's own right. Essential.

xen

Download Here (368Kb)
QurneL
Author Site
Reviewed : 13/05/2002

#1 Drannerz! is afraid of typing too much
by Drannerz! 13/05/2002 - 16:23:02 (143.52.2.50)
Go to top of page  
Whoa! I got a bone

#2 Great Map Qurnel
by sargatanas 13/05/2002 - 17:03:06 (24.218.114.137)
Go to top of page  
I always loved the incredible style of this map. I just love the juxtaposition of medieval brick on a base map. It just adds some cool "plot twist" to the style of the map for some reason. And this map has one of the best flows I have ever seen, you can just swing around it for days. Great job.

P.S. To Paul: The screenshots for this recent block of 5 maps are fux0red (at least on my end), especially the ones for this review. They have some weird line thing where it seems another part of a screenshot has come into it. And there's some scrambling of the images with a dot pattern...

#3 QurneL...
by MisYu 13/05/2002 - 17:39:30 (213.76.244.129)
Go to top of page  
...Ty maly larwiarzu, nie dostan zawalu serca od trzepania gruchy :)

GG

#4 heh
by sargatanas 13/05/2002 - 20:22:13 (24.218.114.137)
Go to top of page  
MisYu, that's probably totally incomprehinsible to Polish peep without accents.

#5 well...
by Scampie 14/05/2002 - 01:27:07 (66.231.198.47)
Go to top of page  
Misyu obviously understood what it meant when he wrote it... seeming as he IS a polish weird.

very good map... altho, what's up with a 5/5 score? It has a unique texture combo, but there's nothing else noteworthy of this map that makes it better than any other 2 aturim map. Layout felt a little cramped in places and I thought the architecture was quite boring. I'd say it was a 4 at best. Better than average, but not the awesome end all be all map that a 5/5 should be.

#6 POLAND!
by Vondur 14/05/2002 - 02:10:59 (195.128.67.194)
Go to top of page  
ROCKAGE!

#7 Damn
by Paul @ Work 14/05/2002 - 04:15:07 (213.122.115.215) Refers to post #2
Go to top of page  
Yeah, I see what you mean. The large images are proper fucked. I was having trouble with ftp access at the time, so tried an alternative upload method but it seems to have knackered them. When I get proper access again I'll reupload them.

Thanks for the heads up.

#8 eeerrm?
by biggie 14/05/2002 - 04:38:11 (213.46.20.13)
Go to top of page  
it isnt THAT good.. worth 4/5 max.

#9 WTF?
by MisYu 14/05/2002 - 04:52:24 (213.76.244.129)
Go to top of page  
Scampie, have you played that map with alive-smart player? If not, please, leave your message later :P

#10 Oi MisYu
by Paul @ Work 14/05/2002 - 05:27:15 (213.122.140.240) Refers to post #9
Go to top of page  
Why aren't you back on irc? :)

#11 :)
by MaTi 14/05/2002 - 05:59:19 (217.99.68.195)
Go to top of page  
Fajnie masz Qurnel. U mnie tyle nie dostales :) Btw. MisYu? Kiedy wraca KURMA?

#12 Pauk
by MisYu 14/05/2002 - 09:25:43 (213.76.244.129)
Go to top of page  
Because I'm playing football 20h/day =)

No maps from me, btw =)

MaTi-> nigdy

#13 Drannerz+ is afraid of typing too much
by Drannerz+ 14/05/2002 - 10:30:15 (143.52.2.50)
Go to top of page  
After I calmed down from my bone....I agree with scampie. It plays sweetly, but doesn't quite have that little bit extra that, say, Lacrima or efdm12 had. 4.5/5

Just my opinion.

#14 :(
by MaTi 14/05/2002 - 11:04:41 (217.98.20.195)
Go to top of page  
To szkoda... Btw. GL z football :)

#16 i on't get it...
by E-werd 14/05/2002 - 13:11:42 (24.154.196.201)
Go to top of page  
How do you make a good map with IDBase, IKBase, and IDSwamp textures...and get it to work? That is one hell of a combination...

#17 Speed doesn't like titles
by Speed 14/05/2002 - 18:03:43 (217.195.95.237)
Go to top of page  
You need to be consistent with the scores. You either being generous or too picky.

Nice map anyway, and plays great

#18 sorry
by xen 14/05/2002 - 18:40:38 (194.117.133.196) Refers to post #17
Go to top of page  
From now on all maps I review will get 3.5/5

#19 Erm...
by MisYu 14/05/2002 - 18:55:58 (213.76.244.129) Refers to post #18
Go to top of page  
...but I heard, that MPQ will be closed? :)

#20 woah
by Electro 15/05/2002 - 04:32:18 (210.50.30.3)
Go to top of page  
mumma's got a brand new bag

#21 Gom Jabbar ate the title
by Gom Jabbar 15/05/2002 - 07:26:01 (212.185.248.124)
Go to top of page  
/me slaps the polish turd of MisYu around a bit with a large trout

But onto the map: This map is really nice, but not 5/5 nice. It looks rather unique and it got some interesting bits but I played it yesterday against humans and... well... I found it rather boring...

#22 I is a idiot
by Drannerz^ 15/05/2002 - 11:13:47 (143.52.2.90)
Go to top of page  
This map seems to change the more I play it. And the more I play it, the less I like it. Still good though. 4/5.

#23 .
by xen 15/05/2002 - 19:18:20 (194.117.133.196)
Go to top of page  
Paul, just change the score :/

#24 HOW MANY TIMES...
by DaZ 15/05/2002 - 20:01:09 (213.1.191.199)
Go to top of page  
DO PEOPLE HAVE TO SAY THIS -

THE SCORE IS A ***ROUGH*** IDEA ON HOW GOOD THE MAP IS!

So if YOU think it aint 5/5 then go shag a dead pig until it squeals with delight, ffs u all really piss me off!!

#25 .
by Scampie 16/05/2002 - 01:41:03 (66.231.198.47)
Go to top of page  
xen: stand behind your opinions or don't have any man. you think the map is awesome and gave it a 5. myself and dranz think it's a 4. we all gave our reasons and it's all the better for anyone who wants to download the map.

so far, nobodys insulted you or your review. please stop taking peoples disagreement with your opinion personally.

Daz: calm down. nobody flamed yelling "CHANGE THE SCORE DAMNIT MPQ SUXXXXX!!!!!!!!! (daz is teh homosexual)" besides, other than me, it was your better personality that disagreed with the score. :P


big hug now?

#26 No score changing.
by Paul @ Work 16/05/2002 - 04:12:32 (213.122.53.142) Refers to post #23
Go to top of page  
xen : Scampie actually said something very sensible and in this case is right :P. People will disagree, if they don't like a review or the score a map got, that's their problem. If you've backed up the score with what was written in the review then there shouldn't be a problem.

Btw, you'll get the same thing happening when RQ opens with all its message board stuff. So my advice is, carry on with the reviews (since you are doing a good job) and don't take the comments so hard.

#27 Gom Jabbar is afraid of typing too much
by Gom Jabbar 16/05/2002 - 05:28:23 (212.185.248.122)
Go to top of page  
xen: Jupp, I do think the same as Paul and Scampie. As I just posted on "Evil Space Hamsters": It's just opinions! Wouldn't it be boring if every opinion would be the same?

#28 True, but...
by xen 16/05/2002 - 11:20:02 (194.117.133.196) Refers to post #27
Go to top of page  
It's all fine having different opinions on a place like Qmap, but this is a review site, and the reviews/scores are meant for global recommendation. You wouldn't have wanted someone who thought 'Ecstasie' was a piece of genius to write it's review and score it high, for instance.

The thing is, it's hard balancing out your own opinions with a more apathetic view that's needed when writing reviews; you can only judge by personal taste, but for the actual review, you're scoring/recommending the map according to the majority's preference, and thus need to word things differently and alter the score.

I'll admit that I screwed up here and on evil.bsp - for these two maps I based maybe 70-80% of my scoring on the enjoyability and balance of the gameplay, as that's the quality I value most in deathmatch. However, I've learnt that the majority of Q1DM players here value awesome and original layouts, impressive architecture, clean looks and unique styles alot more than I do.

It's a valuable lesson for RQ, I suppose. I can only guess Paul learnt from experience.

/me knocks off a star from the v2dc review

#29 nah...
by Drannerz= 16/05/2002 - 11:47:39 (143.52.2.80)
Go to top of page  
...I don't think reviewers should pander to the views of others. If you have an opinion, go for (and stand by it). I think it works well with sites like this cos it gets people talking.

Keep it up, xen.

#30 Gom Jabbar ate the title
by Gom Jabbar 16/05/2002 - 11:58:01 (212.185.248.120)
Go to top of page  
Jupp, DrannerZ is absolutely right!

#31 Interesting...
by Paul @ Work 16/05/2002 - 12:03:10 (213.122.180.18) Refers to post #28
Go to top of page  
...but I have never really taken into account what other people would think. I would just write what I thought about a map. I am of the opinion that a map should both look good and play well, which seems to fit what with most people think (more by coincidence than design though). The only balancing I've tried to do, is to make sure what I review isn't out of whack with what I'd written before.

#32 I miss somehing
by Gokk 16/05/2002 - 12:45:52 (217.208.244.46)
Go to top of page  
I know it, i miss the hats, where are all the hats?

#33 heh
by ... 16/05/2002 - 21:53:38 (24.218.114.137) Refers to post #24
Go to top of page  
I'd do that anyways

#34 Heh
by DaZ 18/05/2002 - 06:17:10 (213.122.177.50)
Go to top of page  
Ok, that post above was written after a horrible day at work :)

well imo it is a 5/5 map as the playability is great and the layout really does flow perfectly, when I judge maps its always really the playability tha grabs me, and I really only notice the looks and lighting if they are made to be seen, ie- look stunning. If the maps build quality is medicore then I will in most cases judge the map on playability, layout, items etc and only give looks a very small margin for changing the score.

I think this way works best (also imo..) as then all maps that play well get the recognition they deserve, a good example is some of parboil's maps, getting 3/3.5 out of 5 because they well, even though their looks are very dated.

#35 you lie DaZ!
by Drannerz) 21/05/2002 - 07:33:23 (143.52.2.80)
Go to top of page  
All a biffa like you loves is tga textures and arse fog.

Add your Comments below. Go to top of page
Nick Name :
Email Address :
Refers to Post :
Title :
Comments :

MPQ Design by James Kable Healey.
CGI code by Paul Healey
CGI and Content Copyright Paul Healey 2001/2000/1999/1998
with the exception of reviews which are copyright of the author.
Design Copyright Kable Kreations 2001/2000