News
Latest News
Pending Reviews
Submit maps
Back to MPQ Archive
Back to Pauked.com
Please note this site is provided just for fun, it's not meant to be fully functional...

Reviews
(8) Bovine Intervention
(34) Hatebreeder
(6) Evil spacehamste...
(6) Unnamed (remix o...
(14) The Limbo Of Bro...
(3) WerdDM2 - Crania...
(30) Old Crater
(10) MisDM12 - Terra ...
(4) The Ravage II
(28) Daedalus Revisited
Last 4 weeks (name)
Last 4 weeks (date)

Comments
Last 25 posts

Articles
Links
Rants
Interviews
#terrafusion stats

Archives
By Map Name
By Author
By Score
By Date
News Archive

Search
Reviews

Top 10s
Best Maps
Worst Maps

Site
Contact & Help!
Comments/Suggestions
Account
Stats
View User List






[Get Opera!]

Trick or Treat! (2-4)
Comments (21) Go to top of page  
This map makes me hear grinding guitars. Metal of some kind. Or maybe it's that mod tune Zed that I can't find on the net anymore. Whatever.

Xenon's little festive slayground is a small set of curvy, richly decorated chambers wrapped around a main three-level atrium. Bedecked in a riot of Zerstörer and Ogro textures, with hints of Kingpin, Doom II and Daikatana thrown in, it's quite a feast for the eyeballs.

Inside all this eyeball candy reside one centrally placed rocket launcher, grenade launcher, both nailguns and super shotty, along with all armours, megahealth and the mighty Quad.

Play, as you might guess, is furious. There seems to be a deceptively straight path to become a red-clad rocket-toting megahealthed Quad monster (mmm, must be the "treat"), but remember that everyone else's thinking the same thing (ah, there's the "trick"!) Kick back, relax and smack the Quad ho' with a rocket as soon as he gets it.

I'm a red-clad rocket-totin' megahealthy QUAD MONSTAAAA..... *does heavy air guitar lick*

What?

Fat Controller

Download Here (476Kb)
XeNoN
Author Site
Reviewed : 04/11/2001

#1 5!!!!!!!
by DaZ 04/11/2001 - 14:54:49 (213.122.145.209)
Go to top of page  
way to go xenon. lovely map

#2 yay 5!!!
by Starbuck 04/11/2001 - 15:21:57 (213.122.26.49)
Go to top of page  
nice one xenon!
Very cool and evil map, played it quite a lot now and it 0wns =)

#3 Is that score a mistake?
by XeNoN 04/11/2001 - 16:07:46 (195.8.88.5)
Go to top of page  
I'm um, not sure it deserves it :(

#4 Nope.
by Fat Controller 04/11/2001 - 17:32:24 (203.79.65.9) Refers to post #3
Go to top of page  
I'm convinced it's right. Trust me, I know what I'm doing.

Note: he said this with that... expression... still on his face. The one that depopulates entire streets. And he's gone back to headbanging air guitar. Hello, he's stopped playing "Quad Monsta" and is now doing "Let's Drink Beer and Shoot Things"... Good God Xenon, what have you done!?

#5 I agree
by Blitz|sunday 04/11/2001 - 17:35:09 (64.12.102.177)
Go to top of page  
XeN. no offense but it didn't deserve a five. There was too little action on the upper levels. It became solely about avoiding a barrage of rockets at the RL which got boring

I love the looks but the whole map seemed a bit 'unrefined'. Great texture set, great lighting. And jeez, this map was made in 2 days? That's unbeleivable, but this map is not on par with Lacrima.

Excllent work to get a great map out on Halloween. More like this and a map will

#6 Downloading the file
by Trin 05/11/2001 - 10:35:18 (61.9.128.142)
Go to top of page  
Can an alternative to file planet please be organised. Fileplanet is just a pain in the @!!

Is this map mirrored anywhere?

#7 Trin...
by xen|college 05/11/2001 - 11:05:38 (212.219.57.59) Refers to post #6
Go to top of page  
Fileplanet tends to normally only have trouble with publicly uploaded files. I uploaded it through the GSI ftp/intranet, as you can probably tell from the Url. Really I'd be surprised if you had to wait long at all, and I'm not sure you need a Gamespy ID either.

Saying that though, I'm sure Paul will mirror it here before long :)

#8 A pain in the 'at?
by Apollo 05/11/2001 - 15:21:38 (62.7.83.79)
Go to top of page  
By gawd guvnor, you gave me a right turn!
</cockney>
Great map....fcs certainly being generous tho, cos altho it great, its just not eartrh shattering enough in my view to be a five. I mean, on par with A2? I dunt think so.

#9 little bug ? ;-)
by randyom 06/11/2001 - 02:47:25 (194.172.110.35)
Go to top of page  
nice little level with lovely doom textures. maybe it is a little bit to easy to dominate it <g>
Only one little mistake I have to convert this level with bspAlign to get running under Solaris

#10 Yup, good stuff there
by Asriel- 06/11/2001 - 03:06:34 (203.79.75.235)
Go to top of page  
I really liked this map, so whole heartedly agree with the 5. Good work there Xen.

#11 dunno...
by Drannerz 06/11/2001 - 06:45:43 (143.52.2.90)
Go to top of page  
...what it's like as i haven't played it yet. But I've walked round and it looks cool, good stuff XeN.

#12 A bit late...
by Paul 06/11/2001 - 15:07:18 (172.188.79.198) Refers to post #6
Go to top of page  
...but the file is now on MPQ. Just check the download link again.

#13 XeNoN doesn't like titles
by XeNoN 06/11/2001 - 18:25:20 (212.126.136.127)
Go to top of page  
Randyom: Um, I really didn't understand what you meant there, but nm :) What is "Solaris", btw? It's just that I had that near the top of name suggestions for my next level... I thought it sounded cool, but if its the name of some OS or custom engine then I wont bother :)

I'd also appreciate if someone pointed out where the doom2 textures are; I've heard two people mention it now and dont recall choosing any :)

Everyone else, thanks for the positive feedback. I dunno, I'm not really sure I'm content with a 5/5 when it seems overrated. I'm definately gonna try and to be more innovative in layout with future realeases, for a start. I'm getting attracted to DM mapping more and more purely by the challenge it offers of pleasing as many people as possible :)

#14 Solaris
by randyom 07/11/2001 - 02:46:53 (194.172.110.35)
Go to top of page  
It's the Sun Microsystem OS. It exists a quake port from id for this OS.

#15 yes, DM is the way forward...
by Drannerz 07/11/2001 - 09:14:52 (143.52.28.10) Refers to post #13
Go to top of page  
...you have seen the light XeNoN, keep pumping out DM goodness.

#16 but...
by XeNoN 07/11/2001 - 10:28:07 (194.117.133.196) Refers to post #15
Go to top of page  
SP still 0wnZ j00r ass :P

#17 ding!!
by DaZ 07/11/2001 - 13:01:36 (213.122.132.131)
Go to top of page  
correct answer!

* DaZ goes back to crdm3

#18 ToadWarrior couldn't be arsed with a title
by ToadWarrior 07/11/2001 - 19:16:22 (64.91.158.5)
Go to top of page  
The map kicks major ass =)

#19 They're at my place
by Fat Controller 15/11/2001 - 02:31:00 (203.79.70.54) Refers to post #13
Go to top of page  
Doom 2 Textures

That spine-ish texture running around the walls can be found in Doom 2.

#20 hmm...
by XeNoN 18/11/2001 - 07:14:26 (194.117.133.196) Refers to post #19
Go to top of page  
I got it from Q3A.

#21 aeei!
by cheshire 29/11/2001 - 10:48:42 (203.59.163.138)
Go to top of page  
you bastard!

killing my map off the Best Maps list...ooooh i shall hunt you down and attack you with a bag full of jelly.

you are an Evil Evil man.

(Good Good map though)
-----------------------
cheshire

Add your Comments below. Go to top of page
Nick Name :
Email Address :
Refers to Post :
Title :
Comments :

MPQ Design by James Kable Healey.
CGI code by Paul Healey
CGI and Content Copyright Paul Healey © 2001/2000/1999/1998
with the exception of reviews which are copyright of the author.
Design Copyright Kable Kreations © 2001/2000