News
Latest News
Pending Reviews
Submit maps
Back to MPQ Archive
Back to Pauked.com
Please note this site is provided just for fun, it's not meant to be fully functional...

Reviews
(8) Bovine Intervention
(34) Hatebreeder
(6) Evil spacehamste...
(6) Unnamed (remix o...
(14) The Limbo Of Bro...
(3) WerdDM2 - Crania...
(30) Old Crater
(10) MisDM12 - Terra ...
(4) The Ravage II
(28) Daedalus Revisited
Last 4 weeks (name)
Last 4 weeks (date)

Comments
Last 25 posts

Articles
Links
Rants
Interviews
#terrafusion stats

Archives
By Map Name
By Author
By Score
By Date
News Archive

Search
Reviews

Top 10s
Best Maps
Worst Maps

Site
Contact & Help!
Comments/Suggestions
Account
Stats
View User List






[Get Opera!]

Crdm2 : Mechanical Tears (2 - 8 Players)
Comments (37) Go to top of page  
So Daz, is normal lighting too good for you? :P. The only problem I have with it is I canít really notice the coloured lighting. Rorshachís Clockwork Droid textures have a brown/orange tinge to them and the lighting is a light in colour and doesnít seem to show up. I mean if youíre going use it as least do it properly! I expected lots clashing reds and blues to give a nice purple glow and shocking aluminous greens ala Quake 2Ö *ah hem*. I am exaggerating a little; there is some variance in the lighting. The upper areas (that open up to the sky) are basked in a natural white light, whereas lower down it is of a more man made yellow kind of lighting. There is an interesting lime green effect emanating from the odd pool of slime but thatís about it. Playing in GLQuake the lighting comes across as being a bit flat but this is compounded by the difference in textures, as weíll see next.

You will need to run TomazQuake or another similar modified exe in order to get the most out of the map due to the high quality textures (download here (2,365kb)).

There is a big difference in terms of this map looks if you donít use the high quality textures. In normal GLQuake the colouring is different, the solid browns of the panels have turned to bland oranges and yellows. They also lose a lot of detail (shot 1, shot 2) and some of the textures look like mush (I mean that in a nice way, like mushy peasÖ hmmm).

Anyway, swiftly getting back on track. Itís a medium sized map set around a three level rectangular shaped atrium. I thoroughly enjoyed playing both when duelling and in FFA. I was surprised that it played so well in 1-on-1 because of its size but this is due to it being heavily interconnected. At first itís not apparent how it all interconnects but after sustained play it is quite obvious.

Grumbles would be some of textures are misaligned and donít blend into other sections quite as expected. Along with that some architecture doesnít look right within the context of the theme, but it must be said this is a minor complaint. There are some very cool looking set pieces that show off the industrial style textures to good affect. I did find a couple of snag spots in the heat of a game which were a bit of a hindrance.

Item placement is good, lots of goodies to get your hands on. Two power ups have been included. The Quad is placed on top of a circular grate on the ground floor of one of the adjoining sections. A huge pipe connects out from the grate across the floor and then upwards as it pokes out from the wall before disappearing near the top up. The MH on the other hand, isnít in such grand a location, its tucked in a rocky area just off the 1st floor of the main atrium.

Overall itís a definite step up on from CRDM1 - Under the Influence. The layout is certainly more coherent and its all the better for it. Itís solidly constructed, littered with items, with lots of space to play in.

Paul

Download Here (985Kb)
DaZ
Author Site
Reviewed : 04/03/2002

#1 yay
by Electro 04/03/2002 - 19:43:20 (203.11.167.254)
Go to top of page  
this is teh badaSS!

#2 What about GQ?
by Gleeb 04/03/2002 - 20:09:49 (213.123.114.172)
Go to top of page  
http://www.planetquake.com/gzone/gq/
</shamelessplug>

#3 wow
by DaZ 04/03/2002 - 20:25:15 (213.122.35.136)
Go to top of page  
I never thought I would see such a score next to a map by me, thanks Paul.

One thing I should mention, in the screenshots using the hi-res textures there seems to be one texture that is WAY brighter than all the others, Im sure you can all see it... My geuss is that I fucked up when putting the TGA textures into the zip file and missed one, therefore there is 1 non-hi-res texture, and IDgamma (I assume your using that) has made that 1 texture way brighter, making the map look really shit :)

Nothing I can do about that, but it IS quite annoying, something to check on in crdm3 :)

#4 Awesome
by MasterMind 04/03/2002 - 20:32:15 (12.229.175.36)
Go to top of page  
Very very cool map. The hi-res textures look great. Keep up the good work.

#5 WOW!
by Panzer 04/03/2002 - 22:38:10 (66.69.2.164)
Go to top of page  
I downloaded and played this map a while back (maybe a month or so) and it's still amazing! The sulfurous yellow lighting really captures the escence of what Quake has been all about since it's introduction. I could only hope my maps turn out as successful as this one. Great work DaZ!...now please finish your tutorials ;)

#6 Gleeb
by Paul 05/03/2002 - 03:44:51 (172.191.125.136) Refers to post #2
Go to top of page  
I deliberately didn't give an url for TomazQuake since I'm not a fan of it (random lock ups, crashes, slow loading, etc). I did run crdm2 in GQ but it complains about some entities on loading.

#7 Gom Jabbar couldn't be arsed with a title
by Gom Jabbar 05/03/2002 - 03:56:58 (212.185.248.123) Refers to post #3
Go to top of page  
> I never thought I would see such a score
> next to a map by me, thanks Paul.

Why not? You plain deserve it for this map!
I really do like it...

#8 cogs..
by CardO 05/03/2002 - 09:41:32 (62.253.64.4)
Go to top of page  
yup, those cogs..

#9 /me slaps CardO
by Paul 05/03/2002 - 10:05:27 (213.122.125.169) Refers to post #8
Go to top of page  
Oh yeah, cogs. I forgot to mention them for some reason.

#10 randyom doesn't like titles
by randyom 06/03/2002 - 03:07:16 (194.172.110.35)
Go to top of page  
Yeah maps plays great but only if a player is earing yellow it is nearly the same than invisible *g*
THe best place ist killing alle quad whores from top of the map. Really nice place and nice idea for camping

#11 He's a camper!!!
by Paul 06/03/2002 - 07:28:33 (213.122.76.160) Refers to post #10
Go to top of page  
Burn him!

#12 j00 are the man...
by Drannerz 06/03/2002 - 08:08:37 (143.52.2.80)
Go to top of page  
I feel really close to you right now...oh yeah, you are sitting next to me

#13 hi-res textures...
by drannerz 12/03/2002 - 05:22:22 (143.52.2.90)
Go to top of page  
So: what does everyone think of hi-res textures, coloured lights, shaders in Quake maps?

I'm a grumpy old Quake man; <q>bah! It's not like the good ol' days when men were men and mappers had REAL mad skillz. These kids, they know nothing with their fancy tga's and pmt's</q>
I like a map that can be appreciated equally in whatever version of quake you run. What do you think [/me points]...yeah you.

#14 whoops..
by drannerz 12/03/2002 - 05:23:02 (143.52.2.90)
Go to top of page  
...used wrong tags

#15 Dranz u Qmap l337 hax0r
by DaZ 12/03/2002 - 16:06:56 (213.122.88.213)
Go to top of page  
hehe. Who says you cant have TGA textures AND good architecture?

#16 DaZ...
by Drannerz 13/03/2002 - 11:07:37 (143.52.2.90)
Go to top of page  
...you did, in the above post:

you cant have TGA textures AND good architecture?

#17 Will you two...
by xen 13/03/2002 - 18:58:42 (194.117.133.196)
Go to top of page  
Do us all a favour and save this argument for continue IRL please? :P

#18 excuse me, I'm stupid
by Drannerz 14/03/2002 - 12:55:13 (143.52.2.203)
Go to top of page  
What's IRL?

#19 In real life f00!
by DaZ 14/03/2002 - 19:53:41 (213.1.181.84)
Go to top of page  
Dammit, thats it, Im ringing u up right now to give u a verbal arse wooping! Ill ring cardo too and have 3 way conversation, double ass wooping! 0wn3d!

Um... Forget this...

#20 save this argument for continue in real life?
by Drannerz 16/03/2002 - 10:16:01 (143.52.2.90)
Go to top of page  
I think QMD has stolen xen's cookie

#21 continue = continuation
by xen. 16/03/2002 - 13:58:32 (194.117.133.196) Refers to post #20
Go to top of page  
.

#22 Ok
by DaZ 16/03/2002 - 16:10:08 (213.1.189.174)
Go to top of page  
So, any comments on the map? :)

#23 nah, it's shit :)
by nex 16/03/2002 - 21:26:24 (194.117.133.196) Refers to post #22
Go to top of page  
.

#24 What map?
by Paul 17/03/2002 - 08:24:29 (172.180.165.163) Refers to post #22
Go to top of page  
I think it requires a higher cheese content.

#25 I am so fucking stupid...
by Drannerz 17/03/2002 - 10:54:54 (143.52.2.50)
Go to top of page  
...it hurts to be alive.

#26 comments on the map:
by Drannerz 17/03/2002 - 11:06:30 (143.52.2.50)
Go to top of page  
I reviewed it here:

http://www.planetquake.com/quake1/features/lotw/dm-01-11-05.shtml

...if anyone wants my opinion. I described the map as good looking but deliberately didn't mention the enhanced features so the review would be more comparable with others.

The layout was definately a step forward from previous maps (that's not to say crdm2s predecessors were bad, this one is just better).

...oh yeah...and, er, watch out for snakes.

#27 heh...
by xrn 17/03/2002 - 15:30:03 (194.117.133.196)
Go to top of page  
When the new RQ gets finished and us lot fuck off over there, mpq's gonna be be left kinda empty, huh? :)

#28 no
by Electro 18/03/2002 - 08:07:02 (210.50.205.172)
Go to top of page  
no

#29 Yep
by Paul 18/03/2002 - 13:08:30 (172.183.60.93) Refers to post #27
Go to top of page  
And then I will be able to carry out my evil plans. Mwhahahahaha...

#30 oi!
by DaZ 18/03/2002 - 18:42:23 (213.122.12.31)
Go to top of page  
:) Seriously, feedback please, I wanna make crdm3 spank major arse...

#31 D!
by Drannerz 19/03/2002 - 12:14:48 (143.52.2.203)
Go to top of page  
When I come home you can show me crdm3 and I'll lay the smackdown on it.

/me smacks...downwards

#32 What's so great...
by Morgulan 29/03/2002 - 14:24:31 (212.124.64.22)
Go to top of page  
Hey guys what's that buzz around this common playground? Get a life...I've seen much much levels like that, it's not quite bad nothing more. Be artists for Christ sake...

#33 riiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiight.
by xen 03/04/2002 - 15:19:48 (194.117.133.196) Refers to post #32
Go to top of page  
If you could be so gracious as to name what type of crack you're smoking which maps you approve of as works of 'art'? Perpnrg? Abcool? Freehold?

#34 j00 is teh s4wk...
by Drannerz_ 04/04/2002 - 14:50:26 (62.172.87.149)
Go to top of page  
...moronulan

#35 I like it..
by xage 28/04/2002 - 20:32:19 (24.58.149.14) Refers to post #1
Go to top of page  
Daz, its a fun map.. I was playing with a q1 engine mod (Teiq2), the tga textures, Frikbots & there was a lot of action and I had much fun running around in Quake1 style with new eyecandy f/x. =)

It is nice to actually see a mapper make use of some newer q1 engine mod features. Thanx

#36 humm...
by Tei 02/05/2002 - 08:32:02 (192.187.16.146)
Go to top of page  
This map is obviusly good. And .tga textures add spice to play then. Without textures look a bit "jpg-isht" and with random noise. And i have not played then in DM, but look good for. I love central arenas connected by hallways.

The work of mappers is amazing. Not only this, but the others mappers generate content fooliing good. I have not test yet with my engine, but if Xage say is good this will be because is well sound designed (ambient sound). My engine get eyecandy from ambient sound, then well maps get very well sound/fx feedback. Other very well design is CZGTOXIC with is light_fluoro placement.

Good mappers do good maps.

#37 sweet
by Drannerz_ 02/05/2002 - 13:47:33 (143.52.2.80)
Go to top of page  
...there's another QMD

Add your Comments below. Go to top of page
Nick Name :
Email Address :
Refers to Post :
Title :
Comments :

MPQ Design by James Kable Healey.
CGI code by Paul Healey
CGI and Content Copyright Paul Healey © 2001/2000/1999/1998
with the exception of reviews which are copyright of the author.
Design Copyright Kable Kreations © 2001/2000