News
Latest News
Pending Reviews
Submit maps
Back to MPQ Archive
Back to Pauked.com
Please note this site is provided just for fun, it's not meant to be fully functional...

Reviews
(8) Bovine Intervention
(34) Hatebreeder
(6) Evil spacehamste...
(6) Unnamed (remix o...
(14) The Limbo Of Bro...
(3) WerdDM2 - Crania...
(30) Old Crater
(10) MisDM12 - Terra ...
(4) The Ravage II
(28) Daedalus Revisited
Last 4 weeks (name)
Last 4 weeks (date)

Comments
Last 25 posts

Articles
Links
Rants
Interviews
#terrafusion stats

Archives
By Map Name
By Author
By Score
By Date
News Archive

Search
Reviews

Top 10s
Best Maps
Worst Maps

Site
Contact & Help!
Comments/Suggestions
Account
Stats
View User List






[Get Opera!]

The Shine (1-on-1)
Comments (15) Go to top of page  
Very slick medieval/Lacrima Christi style map. Although it may not be up to the latterís standard it is certainly more than competently constructed. Lots of strong stone work with plenty of variation in detail, both in textures and architecture. Also on the plus side against Lacrima is that it doesnít suffer from being as dark, although there seem to be one or two spots where lighting had no source.

And whilst Iím grumbling, some of the clipping on the rocky outcrops is a little brutal and I did manage to somehow wedge myself in a particular spot and was unable to move. However, these are very minor things and donít have any real diminishing affect on the map.

Itís a fairly compact level made up of 2 rectangular shaped floors. Various staircases jut out on the outer edges in order to connect up the floors, but other than that, learning the layout is a no brainer. Itís extremely well connected too and movement flows very nicely. As far as its spec is concerned, it more than meets up to it. 1-on-1 play is where this excels and with so many different routes to choose from, capturing (as well as escaping) your opponent is easy.

Weapons are in good supply. The RL was my weapon of choice (cue Christopher Walken flying) with a shed load of ammo at my disposal. The same is true of all items; there is a liberal scattering of health packs to help keep you topped up and two YAís, which turn out to be more than enough.

I did find the placement of the Quad a little intriguing. My first thought was that it should be more out of the way, for example swapped with where the MH is, but after some play I found it certainly helps where it is. If youíre getting a pummelling you can snag it and get yourself back into the game very quickly. And speaking of the MH, as shown in the first screen shot, its placed on top of slightly raised platform which is accessible via the maps only teleporter or via grenade/rocketjump.

The end result is a well-rounded map made primarily for duels. I look forward to more from zxc.

Paul

Download Here (303Kb)
zxc
Author Site
Reviewed : 12/02/2002

#1 Purdy
by MasterMind 12/02/2002 - 20:34:50 (12.229.175.36)
Go to top of page  
Definitely a 5 for the looks. Great style, and I like the jagged rocks outside by the megahealth. Have no idea how it is in the game play area though, anyone know any good custom map servers? thanks.

#2 Speed is afraid of typing too much
by Speed 12/02/2002 - 22:24:57 (80.70.224.164)
Go to top of page  
Very good indeed. Loks superb(5+). Plays good (with or w/o quad and both ffa 1-1 and with bots too)
But the flat and simple layout .. on one hand it makes learning the map a matter of seconds but it gets old really fast. Good for those less-hardcore players.

#3 Why yes, I do ;)
by Jay 13/02/2002 - 08:43:06 (24.91.244.153)
Go to top of page  
QMass.net QMap Customs T1 Linux quake.cis.umassd.edu:27500

#4 Jay
by Paul 13/02/2002 - 13:46:36 (172.189.42.89) Refers to post #3
Go to top of page  
Can you post/email me a list of whats currently running on your server, I'll whack it up as a news post. Also, how often do the maps change?

#5 I've...
by xen 13/02/2002 - 17:35:12 (194.117.133.196)
Go to top of page  
...been waiting so long to see the score on this map; certainly 100% fair - I thought I was the only one who thought this map owned the socks off most of the other Q1DM levels released last year.

Aside from playing nice, the style is one of the best I've ever seen; the texture theme and architecture are just perfect, and it's connected up in a few decent ways too.

ZXC's PLPak submission was my favourite map in that, too (plpak7 - the Q2 palace one). Definitely looking forward to more =)

#6 heh
by zXc 13/02/2002 - 18:29:58 (212.191.188.5)
Go to top of page  
Thanks for the raview Paul.
It's a real pleasure to read so positive review [with such a high score], after waiting so long [:P].

xen:
Next map will be ready in about a month. Can't say anything about the style, but everyone will be surprised :). It's something very strange and I can't really say anything without spoiling too much. Apart from that, I'm making a SP map, but for this one you will have to wait veeeeeeery long :/.

#7 re : heh
by Paul 13/02/2002 - 18:48:55 (172.191.139.153) Refers to post #6
Go to top of page  
You're welcome :). Sorry it's taken so long. Did you get my email?

#8 Yes
by zXc 13/02/2002 - 19:10:39 (212.191.188.5) Refers to post #7
Go to top of page  
And did you get mine?
[check it!]

#9 Paul is e-mailing everybody!
by MisYu 14/02/2002 - 09:17:15 (213.76.244.129)
Go to top of page  
...does he apologise for lags? :D

#10 Re : Paul is e-mailing everybody!
by Paul 14/02/2002 - 13:02:38 (172.189.197.179) Refers to post #9
Go to top of page  
>...does he apologise for lags? :D

Yep he does.

#11 I think that...
by MisYu 14/02/2002 - 13:19:21 (213.76.244.129)
Go to top of page  
...he doesn't have to.*

-----------
*that's not ironic, sarcastic, grin, joke or smtng. that's "cock sucking", as said that here somebody before ;)

/me HUGS Paul
/me invites Paul to #terrafusion, someday, somewhere

#12 Coolies
by Asriel 14/02/2002 - 18:00:32 (203.79.75.124)
Go to top of page  
This is a really good map.
I look forward to the next

#13 Excellent
by ToadWarrior 14/02/2002 - 20:08:27 (64.91.145.96)
Go to top of page  
Love the map!

#14 Gom Jabbar couldn't be arsed with a title
by Gom Jabbar 18/02/2002 - 07:34:00 (212.185.248.117)
Go to top of page  
Whoop! Very nice map, 1-on-1 is a real killer...

Keep up the good work zxc!

#15 Laughing My Ass Off is afraid of typing too muc
by Laughing My Ass Off 28/02/2002 - 05:05:14 (210.8.232.4)
Go to top of page  
a good a areana full of lots of weapons.
Full marks
Laughing My Ass Off

Add your Comments below. Go to top of page
Nick Name :
Email Address :
Refers to Post :
Title :
Comments :

MPQ Design by James Kable Healey.
CGI code by Paul Healey
CGI and Content Copyright Paul Healey © 2001/2000/1999/1998
with the exception of reviews which are copyright of the author.
Design Copyright Kable Kreations © 2001/2000