News
Latest News
Pending Reviews
Submit maps
Back to MPQ Archive
Back to Pauked.com
Please note this site is provided just for fun, it's not meant to be fully functional...

Reviews
(8) Bovine Intervention
(34) Hatebreeder
(6) Evil spacehamste...
(6) Unnamed (remix o...
(14) The Limbo Of Bro...
(3) WerdDM2 - Crania...
(30) Old Crater
(10) MisDM12 - Terra ...
(4) The Ravage II
(28) Daedalus Revisited
Last 4 weeks (name)
Last 4 weeks (date)

Comments
Last 25 posts

Articles
Links
Rants
Interviews
#terrafusion stats

Archives
By Map Name
By Author
By Score
By Date
News Archive

Search
Reviews

Top 10s
Best Maps
Worst Maps

Site
Contact & Help!
Comments/Suggestions
Account
Stats
View User List






[Get Opera!]

Lacrima Christi (2 - 6 Players)
Comments (24) Go to top of page  
If ever there was a contest for best looking gothic DM map, I think this would win hands down, it is the single most impressive map I have seen in a LONG time. The looks a totally gorgeous, a huge gothic church or cathederal with parts exposed to the open world, some areas have been completely ripped apart by earthquakes are blasts and the broken architecture that is left behind is simply outstanding...

And thats just the first part, the gameplay is totally amazing, balanced, brutal, tactical and flows so greatly around the map you wouldn't believe it! 4 player FFA was the best fun I have had in ages and 1 vs 1 was also amazing, if this map has faults, I didn't find any...

Item placement is spot on, its just too hard to describe but the map just flows so well, I dont think I have mentioned the 3d aspect yet either, most areas at least double leveled and all the rest have 3 or 4 levels on them, each with their own purpose and items... Wow.

Some people were asking when MPQ is going to give another 5/5 score, so I have been asking myself "does this map sit next to efdm12, baldm8 and others in terms of sheer quality"? And after much deliberation, bloody hell yes it does!

DaZ

Download Here (383Kb)
Gilt
Author Site
Reviewed : 29/07/2001

#1 5!!!!!
by XeNoN 29/07/2001 - 13:11:41 (213.120.56.45)
Go to top of page  
I *new* you were capable of giving another 5 someday :)
Awesome job, Gilt

#2 errr... knew not new
by XeNoN 29/07/2001 - 13:12:24 (213.120.56.45)
Go to top of page  
bah...

#3 ^)^
by MisYu 29/07/2001 - 13:48:32 (213.76.244.129)
Go to top of page  
Erm, DaZ and something higher than 3.5/5? ;)

This map just owns me, Gilt is my new god, awesome level!

#4 Repent!
by Juz 29/07/2001 - 15:57:25 (195.92.168.169) Refers to post #3
Go to top of page  
Cower brief mortal, for Bal is they true god, and you blaspheme!

#5 As a tester for this map...
by Fat Controller 29/07/2001 - 17:52:29 (203.98.21.43)
Go to top of page  
There was exactly one problem I found with a passage being almost invisible from certain angles. Apart from that, an excellent job!

#6 Heh.
by Raptore 30/07/2001 - 00:18:39 (24.27.97.53)
Go to top of page  
I'll have to download the map first, but I don't think this map will lead astray too many followers of the one called bal..

#7 Mad!
by CardO 30/07/2001 - 06:17:39 (213.122.168.155)
Go to top of page  
What an amazing looking map. The only thing i didn't like was a bit of trim that stops at the bottom of stairs and starts at the top.. apart from that it was a class map, great architecture with all the rocks and stained glass windows. I especially loved the little cave bit at the bottom with the wall lights mounted into the wooden posts =) great stuff!

#8 Very nice map
by GibFest 31/07/2001 - 15:42:52 (212.38.176.238)
Go to top of page  
Tis a very nice map as it is but if you use tomaz engine and add a lil fog it look absolutely amazing.

yum yum

#9 Thanks
by Gilt 31/07/2001 - 22:43:15 (64.20.60.244)
Go to top of page  
Wow, I'm really glad you guys liked the map.
It's a huge honor to even be mentioned in the same sentence as Bal and Frib let alone be compared to them, thanks for your comments
:-)

#10 heh
by XeNoN 01/08/2001 - 14:44:12 (212.126.134.53)
Go to top of page  
"It's a huge honor to even be mentioned in the same sentence as Bal and Frib let alone be compared to them"

Or how about having your map graded above theirs in the 10 best?? ;)

http://www.multiplayerquake.com/mpq-cgi/MPQCGI.EXE?VIEW=SHOW10BEST

#11 mmmmm...
by drannerz 01/08/2001 - 15:44:07 (212.140.71.194)
Go to top of page  
...creamy goodness.

I wuv it.

#12 W0W!
by Starbuck 01/08/2001 - 18:10:09 (213.122.148.131)
Go to top of page  
This really is a spectacular map! Well done Gilt!

#13 Hmmm
by Blitz 07/08/2001 - 01:57:10 (152.163.204.182)
Go to top of page  
When I loaded this map it said "-=Blitz=-, you know as well as I, that you are not worthy to play this map. Close Quake now, and when you are a little more worthy, you can play it. Thank you,"
-Quake

Seriously tho wicked nice, especially the rocky bits, VERY nice. Whole map blew me away.

#14 Damn straight..
by Jay 20/08/2001 - 22:36:11 (24.128.106.125)
Go to top of page  
Although I don't think it's "the most beautiful map ever," I definitely think it's an absolutely awesome map. Great visuals - now who's free to test out the gameplay? ICQ me 22736920 and lets get a game with this one on QMass :)
Grit ~ any chance we'll see a .lit file for Lacrima?

#15 Hi-5 !
by QMD 11/09/2001 - 01:13:12 (24.200.137.108)
Go to top of page  
The architecture of this map is totally awesome and as far as I played gothic maps, this one is the most impressive I've seen with church themed. Baldm8 gave me that same sensation of impressive work. I've wished that it has more bright lights cause I've played with the ReaperBots and it was a bit difficult to see the other players clearly, because of all those dark rocks texture all around. I'm getting old or it's the thruth?

Give me a new pair of glasses,
Awesome work Gilt, keep up the good work!


QuakeMapDesigner
"where imagination means levels"
http://pages.infinit.net/quakemap

#16 only one niggling comment
by Bilirubin 18/09/2001 - 10:44:35 (142.150.11.37)
Go to top of page  
you map is stored on your home computer Gilt. TURN IT ON SO I CAN GET IT ;)

Any chance you could mirror this map on MPQ?

#17 Sorry about this...
by Des 20/09/2001 - 14:11:31 (213.122.87.151)
Go to top of page  
I was showing Des how to use your site and did this as a test!

#18 Done
by Paul 20/09/2001 - 17:14:16 (172.188.221.243) Refers to post #16
Go to top of page  
Bilirubin : Check the download url. Sorry about the delay.

Des : No problem :).

#19 Ta muchly Paul!
by Bilirubin 22/09/2001 - 13:32:57 (24.112.32.14)
Go to top of page  
*dls map*

#20 wow...
by xen|wtf_happened_to_my_cookie 28/09/2001 - 17:33:47 (212.126.134.124) Refers to post #15
Go to top of page  
The QMD seal of approval! That sure is a gift to be treasured... I want it! :)

#21 Final part of my inspection / found 2 errors.
by QMD 06/10/2001 - 02:52:52 (24.200.137.108)
Go to top of page  
Awesome job, Gilt.
I did a second inspection and I was really surprise to found those
2 texture errors while doing a sv_gravity 10
Everything else is totally amazingly well done, except those 2 lights
here:

http://pages.infinit.net/quakemap/lacrima.jpg
P.S.: That's what Xen is probably talking about, "a gift to be treasured".

#22 May I ask...
by Paul 06/10/2001 - 11:21:09 (172.191.53.142) Refers to post #21
Go to top of page  
...why the fuck have you bothered to post that? I mean what exactly does it achieve? It's not like Gilt is gonna go back and fix it. Plus the spot you picked, you have to specially noclip to it (or in your case do it the hard way by changing the gravity! why?!? use noclip!), meaning its pointless even bothering to point it out. It's not something you would normally see whilst playing. I'm sure there are quite a few maps like that, in fact I know there are, but you don't bother to point it out. I could go on, but it'll just get bitchy.

#23 Go go Paul!
by XeNoN 07/10/2001 - 17:09:55 (195.8.79.90)
Go to top of page  
:P

#24 QMD is an idiot...
by Nekroe 16/12/2001 - 10:46:55 (198.142.39.188) Refers to post #22
Go to top of page  
he really is.

Add your Comments below. Go to top of page
Nick Name :
Email Address :
Refers to Post :
Title :
Comments :

MPQ Design by James Kable Healey.
CGI code by Paul Healey
CGI and Content Copyright Paul Healey 2001/2000/1999/1998
with the exception of reviews which are copyright of the author.
Design Copyright Kable Kreations 2001/2000