News
Latest News
Pending Reviews
Submit maps
Back to MPQ Archive
Back to Pauked.com
Please note this site is provided just for fun, it's not meant to be fully functional...

Reviews
(8) Bovine Intervention
(34) Hatebreeder
(6) Evil spacehamste...
(6) Unnamed (remix o...
(14) The Limbo Of Bro...
(3) WerdDM2 - Crania...
(30) Old Crater
(10) MisDM12 - Terra ...
(4) The Ravage II
(28) Daedalus Revisited
Last 4 weeks (name)
Last 4 weeks (date)

Comments
Last 25 posts

Articles
Links
Rants
Interviews
#terrafusion stats

Archives
By Map Name
By Author
By Score
By Date
News Archive

Search
Reviews

Top 10s
Best Maps
Worst Maps

Site
Contact & Help!
Comments/Suggestions
Account
Stats
View User List






[Get Opera!]

The Elder Sanctuary (4 - 10 Players)
Comments (23) Go to top of page  
You can spot a Tronyn map a mile off, gorgeous curves, wide open spaces, great use of sunlight and original designs. "The Elder Sanctuary" carries this impressive reputation on in style with some very nice large hilly areas surrounding a huge fort or church. There is also a network of underwater tunnels for further connection choices. This would have made one hell of a single player map...

...And thats the problem unfortunately, Tronyn just cant seem to crack the DM nutshell. The wide open spaces dont work well in DM and the sheer volume and size of the map doesn't help it either. Sure you can cram 10 players in and run around a little, but the map just feels like a single player map, feels like it was not built for DM at all.

It has some good points though. Item placement is nice and balanced, good positioning of armours and heavy duty weapons makes the map better, but it still cannot escape its firm single player roots.

DaZ

Download Here (772Kb)
Tronyn
Author Site
Reviewed : 01/10/2001

#1 Single Player..
by XeNoN 01/10/2001 - 13:35:49 (195.8.88.216)
Go to top of page  
That is exactly what I thought when I first played this map... I instantly went to find a dead end, turned around, and started devising an SP route :)
It even took about 2.30 minutes to walk through, which aint bad :) I've also noticed a trademark of tronyn's where you can (with the help of an RJ) walk long the top of the rocks and explore various rooftops. Fun stuff indeed... the underwater section also offers exploration and atmosphere.
Basically, I liked this map enough without having to add bots and start a game :) (plays well in dmsp tho)

#3 DaZ doesn't like titles
by DaZ 01/10/2001 - 16:29:08 (213.122.118.18)
Go to top of page  
" (plays well in dmsp tho) "

Agreed, it rocks! If you have no idea what DMSP is, then go find out below.
[ Aardappels Site ]

#4 ^)^
by MisYu 01/10/2001 - 16:46:39 (213.76.244.129)
Go to top of page  
Hihoh, that's exactly what I thought too :}
This is just great base for SP map, the architecture (of this map and another Tronyn's DOGS) reminds me of some ELEK's work.

Och, personally I would give higher note- 2/5 is for really bad maps with harsh lighting, amatourish textures, bugs in architecture, but not for gameplay only.
I would agree, that probably gameplay on this map isn't too l33t, but all the rest is fine- give it chance, give it chance! :)

#5 Eeee...
by MaTi 02/10/2001 - 09:19:52 (195.116.123.2)
Go to top of page  
This map is not so bad. But it can be better. Wisit www.bq.prv.pl

#6 MaTi
by XeNoN 02/10/2001 - 14:07:56 (212.126.136.8) Refers to post #5
Go to top of page  
"Jak już zauważyli¶cie zmieniłem Layout. Co miesi±c będę wybierał mapę, która zasługuje na wyróżnienie i napiszę jej recenzję. W tym miesi±cu mapa Gibbage. Utworzyłem również Archiwum No. 1 i zlikfidowałem screeny z działu Mapy."

Yes! Wow, that is an amazing way of creating better maps than this! Thankyou!


;)

#7 hey!
by apollozx 04/10/2001 - 15:09:56 (213.1.112.88) Refers to post #4
Go to top of page  
Och is fer scotsmen, hampsters are for poles=)
j/k.
Nice map too.

#8 Yeah
by Tronyn 05/10/2001 - 18:53:44 (24.66.247.146)
Go to top of page  
Hmm yeah I think this is better than a 2/5, but of course *I* think that ;)

It's intended for really large matches and or DMSP matches, both of which should be fun. I don't think it has enough spawnspots though considering the playerload (some annoying telefragging), but if anyone's ever putting together a Quake match with 8 or 10 or 12 or whatever players, I think this would be one of the best maps for such a game, despite its score.

#9 Level is great
by randyom 25/10/2001 - 02:53:02 (194.172.110.35) Refers to post #8
Go to top of page  
I play daily quake deatmatch with a playerload 7-12 and I'm always searching for such wide open area levels. And this level is really fun to play

#10 play efdm12...
by Drannerz 25/10/2001 - 11:50:26 (143.52.2.80) Refers to post #9
Go to top of page  
...instead.

#11 Bah Drannerz!
by Tronyn 25/10/2001 - 20:05:21 (24.66.247.146)
Go to top of page  
No, play this map ;)

#12 okay
by Drannerz 26/10/2001 - 05:34:40 (143.52.28.10)
Go to top of page  


#13 lol...
by DaZ 26/10/2001 - 06:09:06 (213.122.58.156)
Go to top of page  
Drannerz and tronyn :)

I gave this map a 2 cos I dont get on with Long distance gameplay, it just doesn't work in Quake for me... Hence the 2 score.

My scores hardly ever reflect looks though, normally just the gameplay, looks is an added bonus :)

#14 best big levels ?
by randyom 26/10/2001 - 06:09:41 (194.172.110.35)
Go to top of page  
i think elmdm11, kikdm6, ab2,
highrise (of course, but this is only my opinion *fg*), oandu, illarena, some fragtwn levels and so on

#17 I agree
by Tronyn 26/10/2001 - 17:24:23 (24.66.247.146)
Go to top of page  
that gameplay is more important than looks, a map can look good and play shit and be shit, but I thought the gameplay was better than a 2 and also if the looks affect the score any they should have brought up the score a bit.

This is easily the biggest DM map I've made and playswell with teams of 3 or 4.. but my next set of dms (except for the crocodile tears sequel, heh, which kind of sucks and I may not release) will be faster and tighter, and much better for FFAs with only 3 or 4 players.

#18 well well.
by Rotpig 27/10/2001 - 01:43:48 (203.54.191.20)
Go to top of page  
I canna even play this dang thing! yes, quake crashes windows into the blue screen of death every time i try to run it!

I'll just have to build a mental picture of this one. You know what they say about books, "the pictures are better"

#19 Hmm..
by Tronyn 27/10/2001 - 06:01:19 (24.66.247.146) Refers to post #18
Go to top of page  
Well are you running WinQuake or DosQuake?
Other than that...I wish I knew..

#20 Actually
by Rotpig 27/10/2001 - 08:04:24 (203.54.190.228)
Go to top of page  
I always run GlQuake. I was able to play "Purity" but the others, House, Dogs and Elder Sanctuary have all failed to run on my system.

#21 gameplay vs looks...
by Drannerz 27/10/2001 - 11:54:09 (143.52.2.45) Refers to post #13
Go to top of page  
It's debatable how you balance the two when scoring a map. Maps may be made to play well, but gameplay can be the result of luck rather than skill. And in turn, looks might not make the map but they demonstrate the skill of the author.

MPQ tend to favour gameplay: It's scores the maps entirely on how good they are.
As a contrast to this, when I review at RQ I tend to favour looks: I score the maps on how much skill it took to make them (that's not to say that good gameplay doesn't require skill to create).

Whichever way you agree with (or maybe you disagree with both and have another way to score maps) It's good to have two review sites giving different opinions.

#22 Well..
by Tronyn 27/10/2001 - 16:48:18 (24.66.247.146)
Go to top of page  
That's gay, they all load fine in all versions of Quake for me. Argh.
Though in many cases I prefer software Quake (with higher resolutions of course), because it looks grittier and handles lighting *much* better, in my opinion.
That's too bad though because I think House really beats out Purity, which may look a bit nice but has a really simple layout... House and Dogs are the good ones...

#23 agreed
by Asaki 06/11/2001 - 20:07:59 (24.4.252.147)
Go to top of page  
Yeah, if maps were rated by looks, my Base of Two Deaths would have a REALLY low score ;D

#24 =)
by MisYu 11/01/2002 - 10:41:28 (213.76.244.129)
Go to top of page  
Comparing Tronyn's map score (2) to Nekroe's Poste Haste (3.5/5) and Tronyn's map construction/architecture/size/feel to the same thing from Nekroe's suggest me to ban scores =)

#25 or just fatty from writing reviews...
by xen 27/01/2002 - 14:05:30 (194.117.133.196)
Go to top of page  
.

#26 Actually
by Tronyn 04/02/2002 - 21:24:25 (24.66.247.146)
Go to top of page  
I want to radically improve play in this one, especially for bots, for the final SoE projects. Anyone got any suggestions before this finally goes off of the "recent" (lol) reviews?

Add your Comments below. Go to top of page
Nick Name :
Email Address :
Refers to Post :
Title :
Comments :

MPQ Design by James Kable Healey.
CGI code by Paul Healey
CGI and Content Copyright Paul Healey © 2001/2000/1999/1998
with the exception of reviews which are copyright of the author.
Design Copyright Kable Kreations © 2001/2000