News
Latest News
Pending Reviews
Submit maps
Back to MPQ Archive
Back to Pauked.com
Please note this site is provided just for fun, it's not meant to be fully functional...

Reviews
(8) Bovine Intervention
(34) Hatebreeder
(6) Evil spacehamste...
(6) Unnamed (remix o...
(14) The Limbo Of Bro...
(3) WerdDM2 - Crania...
(30) Old Crater
(10) MisDM12 - Terra ...
(4) The Ravage II
(28) Daedalus Revisited
Last 4 weeks (name)
Last 4 weeks (date)

Comments
Last 25 posts

Articles
Links
Rants
Interviews
#terrafusion stats

Archives
By Map Name
By Author
By Score
By Date
News Archive

Search
Reviews

Top 10s
Best Maps
Worst Maps

Site
Contact & Help!
Comments/Suggestions
Account
Stats
View User List






[Get Opera!]

Rusted Factory (1-on-1)
Comments (13) Go to top of page  
Qurnel's latest is a joy to behold. The setting is gritty industrial and there is a lot of detail. There are plenty of nice touches from the hammers and spanners abandoned under perfectly positioned spotlights (strange that) to the rogue saw and screwdriver on top of random crates to the convey belt pushing a monotonous line of crates ala Quake 2. The textures are equally well detailed with several different custom signs such as the red armour notice and the "camp now" signs.

The layout is built around a three-layer skyward looking atrium. The encompassing layout is bit disjointed with no real path of smooth movement. Lots of lifts, ladders and teleporters intervene here and I thought this would make for very jumpy play. To a certain extent it does but its very on edge, keep your wits about you stuff. You'll have to keep your eye on the ball, so to speak, to rack up those frags. For me this type of play is enjoyable for 15-20 minutes after which it gets on my wick and begins to annoy. Playing it for short bursts worked best.

Paul

Download Here (422Kb)
Kornel 'Qurnel' Paszkowski
Author Site
Reviewed : 14/05/2001

#1 Different..
by Jay 14/05/2001 - 23:13:10 (134.88.216.15)
Go to top of page  
This one's been added to QMass' custom server.

#2 Looks excellent
by ToadWarrior 15/05/2001 - 00:15:05 (64.91.144.43)
Go to top of page  
The pics remind me of that one rusted factory map in UT which is a favorite of mine so I'm checking it out. =)

#3 Yup..
by XeNoN 15/05/2001 - 14:17:43 (212.126.131.172)
Go to top of page  
very nice...

#4 Yes,
by TombstoneJoe 15/05/2001 - 18:55:03 (208.180.5.180)
Go to top of page  
Credit Epic Games for some of those textures from Unreal Tournament

#5 : |
by Drannerz 17/05/2001 - 03:51:36 (62.172.84.57)
Go to top of page  
I'm not too sure about this one. Duel was nice but FFA didn't really blow my mind.

Quite nice looking though.

#6 North..
by MisYu 17/05/2001 - 09:51:12 (213.76.244.129)
Go to top of page  
..0wnz all other DM maps, including this one :)

*MisYu slaps Qurnel around a bit with "Teritory"

#7 yeah?
by Drannerz 17/05/2001 - 14:36:09 (212.140.69.244) Refers to post #6
Go to top of page  
what about efdm12?

#8 MisYu slaps Dranz
by MisYu 18/05/2001 - 10:05:42 (213.76.244.129) Refers to post #7
Go to top of page  
De gustibus non est disputandum.. :P

Oh and by the way, I think it's impossible to make a classification of maps, so don't match them :)

#9 I played this vs a bot...
by Aardappel 18/05/2001 - 12:28:08 (213.75.95.235)
Go to top of page  
and its a VERY dominating map. not that this is bad, it actually nice for a change with all the hyper-connected maps around, but I hope the author was aware of this :)

#10 you wha'?
by Drannerz 21/05/2001 - 14:14:12 (212.140.73.59) Refers to post #8
Go to top of page  
I agree completely, MisYu - It is impossible to make a classification of maps.

In other news: 'Saving Private Ryan' and 'Abcool' are just as good as Rusted Factory...Happy now?

#11 O-O
by MisYu 23/05/2001 - 09:32:21 (213.76.244.129) Refers to post #10
Go to top of page  
Dranz, You misunderstood.
I tried to say that is rather impossible to make a classification of _good_ maps.

Match Rusted Factory to Death by the Dozen- both maps are great, but I can prefer first one, You-second. But both are great :P

#12 why I dont like efdm12...
by XeNoN 23/05/2001 - 13:12:40 (212.126.135.19)
Go to top of page  
It just seems too perfect. The layout is really winding and connected amazingly and all items are where you want them to be all the time and the whole thing looks great. It's like a stock map (albeit much better), I cant actually imagine a person designing it... Fribbles must have one hell of a brain!
I kinda prefer this one cos it's more down to earth and seems possible to make, yet still plays excellently.

Oh, and I agree with misyu's second point, there are much more DM maps people see as favourites than with SP maps, cos the gameplay is often down to the person playing it and their tactics/skill.

#13 oh...yeah
by Drannerz 23/05/2001 - 13:25:50 (212.140.72.81) Refers to post #11
Go to top of page  
Ah, I see what you're saying.

Yeah, I agree, at the higher end of level design maps are subjective.

Add your Comments below. Go to top of page
Nick Name :
Email Address :
Refers to Post :
Title :
Comments :

MPQ Design by James Kable Healey.
CGI code by Paul Healey
CGI and Content Copyright Paul Healey 2001/2000/1999/1998
with the exception of reviews which are copyright of the author.
Design Copyright Kable Kreations 2001/2000