News
Latest News
Pending Reviews
Submit maps
Back to MPQ Archive
Back to Pauked.com
Please note this site is provided just for fun, it's not meant to be fully functional...

Reviews
(8) Bovine Intervention
(34) Hatebreeder
(6) Evil spacehamste...
(6) Unnamed (remix o...
(14) The Limbo Of Bro...
(3) WerdDM2 - Crania...
(30) Old Crater
(10) MisDM12 - Terra ...
(4) The Ravage II
(28) Daedalus Revisited
Last 4 weeks (name)
Last 4 weeks (date)

Comments
Last 25 posts

Articles
Links
Rants
Interviews
#terrafusion stats

Archives
By Map Name
By Author
By Score
By Date
News Archive

Search
Reviews

Top 10s
Best Maps
Worst Maps

Site
Contact & Help!
Comments/Suggestions
Account
Stats
View User List






[Get Opera!]

Campgrounds (2 to 12)
Comments (15) Go to top of page  
Jeff McWhorter returns with the latest in his Quake 3 to Quake 1 conversions. This time he seems to have got the hang of lighting and some of the shadows cast by the skylight are very impressive.

Brush work is good also with nearly all the features of the original Quake 3 map present and intact. obviously the map looks no-where near as good as its Quake 3 counterpart but jeff has tried to achive the same kind of overall look with use of TGA high res textures that will only work with TomazQuake, also Jeff has tried to achive the same rounded feel of the arches and windows but they still look very angular and a few more polys in there wouldn't have hurt.

gameplay wise unfortunately is where the map falls down. The areas are just too large for a Quake DM, yes they work fine in Quake 3 but that is a completely different game! if the main area and most of the surrounding rooms and corridors had been made smaller then it would have played much better. Item placement is also pretty much identical to the Quake 3 version (ie. bad) with the red armour, mega health and rocket launcher all a few hops and skips away, the item that makes the map fun is the Quad damage that appears in the center of the map.

if you've seen jeff's other Q3 --> Q1 conversions and liked them then by all means get this as it is the best one yet. But unfortunately the map is just too expansive to be a really good Deathmatch arena...

DaZ

Download Here (2552Kb)
Jeff McWhorter
Author Site
Reviewed : 06/03/2001

#1 TomazQuake
by Rotpig 07/03/2001 - 08:59:37 (203.35.83.4)
Go to top of page  
The map should have at been released as a normal bsp with the option for users of tomazquake to get an enhanced version. Agree?

#2 TomazQuake
by Rotpig 07/03/2001 - 09:00:02 (203.35.83.4)
Go to top of page  
The map should have been released as a normal bsp with the option for users of tomazquake to get an enhanced version. Agree?

#3 FUCKING HELL
by Drannerz 07/03/2001 - 13:23:18 (62.172.20.219)
Go to top of page  
FUCKING HELL, FUCKING HELL, FUCKING HELL
...FUCKING DOWNLOAD...
...FUCKING FUCKING UP...
...FUCKING NOT COMING THROUGH...
OH FUCKING HELL!!!!

#4 Yes Rotpig
by DaZ 07/03/2001 - 14:09:50 (213.1.143.162)
Go to top of page  
I agree, a 2.5 meg zip is a little harsh to download when you dont use TomazQuake, but those textures do look sw33t! :)

#5 Download problems
by Plutonium 07/03/2001 - 16:39:21 (63.99.29.54)
Go to top of page  
I will upload it to Fileplanet tonight. Sorry about the big download, I should of thought about separate downloads for the Tomaz Quake users.

Damn Drannerz, you sure do seem to have problems downloading my maps. Anyway, Fileplanet should have it tonight. I gotta get a new website host!

#6 @home = crap
by ToadWarrior 07/03/2001 - 21:46:21 (64.91.150.138)
Go to top of page  
Why do they insist on booting your ass so often? Not that I'm gonna download it(don't have Tomaz quake) but I just felt like complaining about them. :)

#7 fileplanet dl
by Drannerz 08/03/2001 - 14:42:56 (62.172.86.233) Refers to post #5
Go to top of page  
Plotonium - When you get that fileplanet dl sorted leave a message on this thread with the URL. This map looks quite nice, even if it does play like my arse

/me plays with his arse and is dissapointed with the game-play

sort out that dl

#8 Map is now on MPQ
by Paul 08/03/2001 - 16:06:55 (213.122.208.128) Refers to post #7
Go to top of page  
You should be able to download it now. See download url in review.

#9 TomazQuake 1.44
by Plutonium 09/03/2001 - 19:43:52 (24.15.96.184)
Go to top of page  
The new release of Tomazquake (Version 1.44)doesnt work with this map for some reason. It says that it doesn't support type 2 and 10 TGA's. I'm gonna try and fix all the messed up textures and repost them on my site....

#10 Plotonium - Show us your skillz...
by Drannerz 10/03/2001 - 14:46:59 (212.140.64.78)
Go to top of page  
The thing stopping this map getting a higher score than two was the gameplay - Q3 styleee open combat across vast spaces blows in Quake.
As far as converting the map goes I think you did I good job - no b0rks, atmospheric lighting and everything looked quite nice. So the only thing holding you back is the fact you didn't make the base. Which leads me to say: Have a go at making a map from scratch.
You've got lighting sorted, I'm sure you can do everything else, and if you like Q3 maps so much use Q3 textures - they worked for me in DranzDM6. Go on, show us your skillz.

[If you've already made and released a map of your own the above advise is completely useless and I deserve to be punished for my ignorance. You may come round my house and spank my bottom]

-Drannerz ;]

#11 FUCKING HELL v2.0 Pro...
by Drannerz 10/03/2001 - 14:51:38 (212.140.64.78) Refers to post #10
Go to top of page  
I just realised I've been b0rking Plutonium's name. you can take me up on that offer of spanking my bottom if you like.

-Drennarz :[

#12 2Plutonium
by Speedy 11/03/2001 - 01:50:37 (213.221.48.36)
Go to top of page  
Really, make a map from scratch man !
And this one is not that bad with gameplay btw. no bots (at least 4 bots is kinda boring) but it should be cool with human (cant play more than 1-1 tho) . And it needs railgun badly ;)

On textures: DONT ! use TGAs. Use independent palleted 8 pcx bit instead - they are small and handy.

#13 Speedy chickened out with a title
by Speedy 11/03/2001 - 01:52:59 (213.221.48.36)
Go to top of page  
8 bit pcx thats it

#14 A map I Made
by Plutonium 11/03/2001 - 12:44:21 (24.15.96.184)
Go to top of page  
THere is a map I submitted thats on your waiting list right now. Its not that good though. I cant seem to get the connectivity and layout issues together into my maps. I guess my creativity is lacking.

#15 Ignore Speedy
by XeNoN 23/03/2001 - 18:22:25 (195.8.76.246)
Go to top of page  
"On textures: DONT ! use TGAs. Use independent palleted 8 pcx bit instead - they are small and handy."

DO!, only make a separate file for the pcx ones, like was said at the beginning

Add your Comments below. Go to top of page
Nick Name :
Email Address :
Refers to Post :
Title :
Comments :

MPQ Design by James Kable Healey.
CGI code by Paul Healey
CGI and Content Copyright Paul Healey 2001/2000/1999/1998
with the exception of reviews which are copyright of the author.
Design Copyright Kable Kreations 2001/2000