News
Latest News
Pending Reviews
Submit maps
Back to MPQ Archive
Back to Pauked.com
Please note this site is provided just for fun, it's not meant to be fully functional...

Reviews
(8) Bovine Intervention
(34) Hatebreeder
(6) Evil spacehamste...
(6) Unnamed (remix o...
(14) The Limbo Of Bro...
(3) WerdDM2 - Crania...
(30) Old Crater
(10) MisDM12 - Terra ...
(4) The Ravage II
(28) Daedalus Revisited
Last 4 weeks (name)
Last 4 weeks (date)

Comments
Last 25 posts

Articles
Links
Rants
Interviews
#terrafusion stats

Archives
By Map Name
By Author
By Score
By Date
News Archive

Search
Reviews

Top 10s
Best Maps
Worst Maps

Site
Contact & Help!
Comments/Suggestions
Account
Stats
View User List






[Get Opera!]

Abcool (4 to 16)
Comments (29) Go to top of page  
Why *OH WHY* does this happen? Don't some people have *eyes*? As you may have geussed already, Abcool blows *BIG TIME*. We all remember our first Quake map, that lovely box map using only one texture, a light with 8000000 brightness and 50 weapons all lined up in the center of the map. Well Austin must have really liked his first map cos *here it is*! For us all to play and enjoy!

The build style is.. Errr well, ID textures used to create some very *Un*-lavished rooms (if your lucky you might find an aligned texture, but I doubt it)usually consisting of 6 brushes (4 walls, a roof and the floor). Lighting makes the map completely Un-playable as it is either full*dark* or completely the opposite, burning your eyes out of your sockets with a 50,000 brightness strobe light...

The layout is non existent, as the map at its base level is just a load of boxes connected up by holes (complete with doors that make no sound when activated), oh wait, hang on, the map at its base level is exactly the same as the map looked at in game... Hmmmmm. yes connection wise your looking at a roundhouse trip in order to get from one side of the map to the other as no handy shortcuts are provided.

Ok, this map stinks. It is an example of a map at the lowest end of the low. Whatever you do just *dont* download it! (also nice of the author was to put the map into a instal exe not a zip file, making the zip file over 600k...) But I dont want to leave this review on a wicked note. Some pointers for the author... Get the top ten MPQ maps! You can learn a heck of a lot from those about looks / layout / gameplay ect... That goes for all you people who have a map but are unsure about releasing it, also an in-valuable thing to do is beta test, give the map to a load of people you have never met and see what they say... Austin did none of this and unfortunately his first map turned out to be complete arse, *it can be avoided*!!

Oh and this map is not VIS'ed either :(

Another thing, as MPQ is between choosing an icon for the lowly 0/5 mark, this will have to do = 0/5

Note from Paul : We now have a graphic for 0.0/5.

DaZ

Download Here (644Kb)
Austin
Author Site
Reviewed : 02/03/2001

(0.0/5)

#1 First post.
by Shambler 02/03/2001 - 14:53:19 (194.112.32.101)
Go to top of page  
0wnx0red again.

#2 bah
by Paul 02/03/2001 - 14:56:51 (62.7.74.21) Refers to post #1
Go to top of page  
/me slaps Shambler

#3 #1, * P R E F L A M ' D *
by Shambler 02/03/2001 - 14:57:40 (194.112.32.101)
Go to top of page  
I said it all at PQ already.

#4 pants
by Drannerz 02/03/2001 - 14:59:56 (62.172.21.43)
Go to top of page  
yeah, this map blows

#5 LOFUCKINL
by Asriel 02/03/2001 - 15:24:39 (203.96.111.200)
Go to top of page  
yhehehehehhe

#6 if after this map you want more...
by Aardappel 02/03/2001 - 15:58:55 (213.75.94.218)
Go to top of page  
this page will help you satisfy your SM map needs:

http://www.planetquake.com/aardappel/worst_maps0-c/index.shtml

#7 0/5
by Fern 02/03/2001 - 16:30:38 (141.222.155.61)
Go to top of page  
maybe you could put a big "0" on his helmet

I thought of starting a contest where I offer a large amount of money and a chest full of CDs for anyone who finds a single aligned texture on any of the crates in this map...

...but then I'd feel like a crook because this is impossible

#8 Ooops..... sorry my map bummed
by Austin_Brock 02/03/2001 - 16:42:55 (62.255.0.4)
Go to top of page  
I quite enjoyed my attempt, althought like you say I think I need to get some practice first and also check out the top 10, I could do with some help though, I don't know how to vis(and my lighting wasn't OTT, it was actually of quite a low amount) could you give me help with how to vis using Worldcraft as its a new thing to me, and also sorry about the .exe file, it was because my friend Marc didn't have a clue what I was going on about when I said it goes in c:\quake\id1\maps\ so that was just so he could put it there without any problems and without any hassle. I WILL carry on my mapping as its an enjoyable thing, but I could do with some better textures as, as you say the ID one's aren't great, so any suggestions for any would be nice! :), I will let someone play test it when I make another map, NOT A FRIEND, as they can't be trusted as like you say they will say "Yeah its ace!", I will post a message on a new map when I make a map so that people can tell me what they thought of it. The one good outcome of this is the fact that people who go to winsite will see the fact that quite a few people have downloaded it, LOL! Thanks for your comments.

#9 Oh, I've read the bits in IKA
by Austin_Brock 02/03/2001 - 16:52:23 (62.255.0.4)
Go to top of page  
Yeah, thanks for that Daz, it'll help in the future, but what does vis'ing do actually?

#10 vis and textures
by Fern 02/03/2001 - 16:56:47 (141.222.155.61)
Go to top of page  
It doesn't matter what editor you're using. If you want to VIS your map, you need to seal it off and make sure there aren't any holes to the void. This map has a large hole in it, in one of the long hallways, which is why no editor will be able to VIS it. (VIS isn't even a part of the editor)

Also, I really need to be frank here. If anything was mentioned about the texturing, it's not because the iD textures "aren't great." Just look at RotPig's maps for examples of nice id texture usage. The problems with the textures in this map are that hardly any of them are aligned, they don't adhere to a theme at all, and they aren't used in a way that makes them look realistic. That's something to aim for with any texture set, it can't be blamed on the textures themselves.

wondering what will come next... :)
~Fern

#11 what VIS does
by Fern 02/03/2001 - 17:00:27 (141.222.155.61)
Go to top of page  
when you walk around in an unVISed map, Quake draws every face of every brush that is in your line of sight, whether something is between you and it or not. This slows the map down and also makes brushes disappear in software Quake when more than 800 faces get drawn. VIS calculates which brushes you can actually see from wherever you're standing and makes sure that only they get drawn.

At least I think that's how it works. Anyone else going to let me know how retarded I am? :)

#12 Sounds good Fern.
by mal 02/03/2001 - 18:44:48 (209.198.113.128)
Go to top of page  
That's about all i know about vis. it really helps.

to use it, make sure your map is sealed (ie, a concave space, with no access to the void)

then run BSP and Light (whichever programs you use)

then run VIS (to do this, place the map in the same directory as VIS.exe and run the DOS prompt. then do this

>VIS -level 4 'mapname'

replace 'mapname' with the name of your map.

there are newer versions of BSP, Light, and VIS. you can get some of them at www.planetquake.com/tyrann

uhh. good luck

#13 about the icon
by mal 02/03/2001 - 18:47:54 (209.198.113.128)
Go to top of page  
how about a big L on the forhead? instead of a 0. or maybe the word 'zero'

/me goes and makes a zero quality map. oh wait, I did. /me gives everyone a copy of ckdm1 - twitch like a fiend

not to be confused with maldm1 - twitch like a fiend, which was .5 quality but got a generous 2.5 or something.

#14 exe?
by misyu 03/03/2001 - 06:04:49 (213.76.244.129)
Go to top of page  
Could somebody replace exe with zip? I get too many viruses from net- that is usage of exe files :/

#15 Hey!!!! wtf?
by Rotpig 03/03/2001 - 09:54:47 (203.35.83.4)
Go to top of page  
Id textures are da best... If you align them, they will look good.

#16 Well...... outta da blue comez.......
by Austin_Brock 03/03/2001 - 11:45:17 (62.255.32.4)
Go to top of page  
Abcool2...

You might have to wait till tommorow to get it.

Search www.winsite.com for either "Quake" or "Abcool", you will either find loads of stuff for Quake or my firt map. I'm not going to submit my map yet, as this one did make a fool of me, I just want some people to test my map and give me advice on what to do, oh and watch out for the car! (And YES it's vis'ed, and it runs at a cool speed toooooooo! and it's in .zip format! YEY, I bet your glad, LOL.)

#17 Oh yeah.
by Austin_Brock 03/03/2001 - 11:46:48 (62.255.32.4)
Go to top of page  
And my textures are aligned as well. (Well I think most are!) :o)

#18 To tell me what ya think......
by Austin_Brock 03/03/2001 - 11:50:08 (62.255.32.4)
Go to top of page  
.... either email me at [email protected] , with the subject Abcool2 or post a message here (The reason for the subject abcool2 is that I can't stand junk mail and I'd never be able to tell if its junk or not, and it could get deleted!)

#19 Ok....
by Rotpig 03/03/2001 - 22:27:58 (203.35.83.3)
Go to top of page  
Yes, I'm taking the "abcool2" challenge ppl. I'll post up some revelations after I see this map...

#20 Results...
by Rotpig 03/03/2001 - 22:59:28 (203.35.83.3)
Go to top of page  
Well, I should say that abcool2 is perhaps ever so *slightly* better than abcool.

The car that races it's way down the middle of the map is quite lame and things like that don't make maps very enjoyable imo.

As with abcool, this map seems to make very little sense as far as layout and connectivity goes. The clicking Train entities and doors all combine to make this the most noisy damn map of all time. Almost constantly, doors are opening and closing all over the place (it's quite funny actually)

Tips from me would be to spread the map out a lot more. Cramped maps are seldom really good, this being no exception. Small doorways give no margin for error when navigating, causing players to get caught and frustrated. Players also need room to move and dodge, which in turn will make a map much more enjoyable. The lower section of this map shows some potential even though the lighting is quite nasty.

Place weapons in locations that compliment their styles or uses. Also, it's a good idea to make it so that weapons are accesible to players. (the RL,Quad and RA are all located on crates at the top of the map, where there is no way of getting them)

The crates have been done well, not that this is anything difficult. At least the textures line up...

As a final note, I would say that you should just practice with the editor you are using and take Daz/Ferns advice and look over some of the better maps. Go through the list of maps here at MPQ. You dont even have to look at all the very best maps (although I recommend it just to get a better idea of what you need to do)

You could even try doing some sketches. That works for me (rpdm7, rpdm8 and part of rpdm10 were made from sketches) Its sometimes better to plan on paper first and save time.

#21 Thanks Rotpig
by Austin_Brock 04/03/2001 - 03:14:36 (62.255.0.4) Refers to post #20
Go to top of page  
I too found it quite cramped which is disapointing, the lighting is adequate now, and whats this about not being able to reach the Quad Damage...... you just from the window on the top floor of the other side (with the bloke and his slashed back) you can reach the single crate from there and then jump to the others. :o). I think I did that to make people rocket jump.... but then again I think thats the only rocket launcher... doh!!! I think my best option is to maybe start a new map, as this map would be hard to extend. Wait for ABCool3, and it won't be a 6 hour job this time!

#22 Rotpig
by misyu 04/03/2001 - 05:50:07 (213.76.244.129) Refers to post #20
Go to top of page  
Qurnel asked me to tell You, that Your RPDM10 is great map, it has damned nice lightning & texture usage, nice contrast between upper base-floor and lower rocky-ground and beatufiul windows in walls.. :)

#23 austin, what editor do you use?
by Grahf 04/03/2001 - 21:47:11 (209.145.69.181)
Go to top of page  
The editor can make a big difference in the map quality, as some simply don't have the necessary features, or have glaring bugs, that hamper good map building. Most top mappers use Worldcraft 1.6, although there are some people who use BSP, Quark, and Qoole. Be wary with old versions of Quest or Qoole, qED, THRED and Deathmatch Maker. The last two are notoriously bad. (QMD, if you're reading this, you really should switch!)

#24 well, shucks...
by Rotpig 05/03/2001 - 02:48:32 (203.35.83.4) Refers to post #22
Go to top of page  
Thanks for that. I must say that rpdm10 has taken up much more time in making/testing than my other few maps. I'm very happy with how it turned out.

Rpdm6 is under re-construction but it will be some time before it hits the streets. For further information on this map go here:

http://my.ohio.voyager.net/~keichena/

and there is more info in the projects page.

Oh, and sorry to all users of netscape. The site isnt looking very good at all in netscape. And ignore the stuff about map reviews, as that is bullshite. Can't even trust myself anymore.

#26 Erm.... I use Wordcraft 1.6 like the rest.
by Austin_Brock 06/03/2001 - 12:23:11 (62.255.32.4)
Go to top of page  
This was my first editor and I don't think I could change to any others.

#27 bah.....
by XeNoN 13/03/2001 - 16:59:53 (212.126.131.183) Refers to post #23
Go to top of page  
"Be wary with old versions of Quest or Qoole, *_qED_*, THRED and Deathmatch Maker"

/me grunts and hides in the corner...

#28 I'm effectively reading this
by QuakeMapDesigner 17/03/2001 - 01:22:33 (24.200.48.151) Refers to post #23
Go to top of page  
Grahf sayed: "...Be wary with old versions of Quest or Qoole, qED, THRED and
Deathmatch Maker. The last two are notoriously bad. (QMD, if you're reading this, you really should switch!)..."

Effectively, I've read it and I'M supposed to switch. Am doing these past few days some backup of so many files of cool maps I've done but never finished because like you said, Deathmatch Maker is THE problem. After reformatting my computer later on I WON'T re-install Deathmatch Maker Editor. It's time for me to try Worldcraft. I hope there is cool tutorials about WorldCraft because if it the support for the editor is the same like deathmatch maker, it will be hard to learn it.

Thanks to Fern and some the other hottest mappers at #terrafusion to make me wake up about the problems with the misalignment with Deathmatch Maker. I'm tired as well for all those problems loosing 5-6 hours of editing then suddenly the editor just crap in your face with the only possibility to press the button [CONTINUE], then it totally shutdown the Deathmatch Maker witout giving you opportunity to make a backup or something of your long hours of work :(

AM also the past few days not that much on Quake, spring coming soon, am loosing for kilos of fat accumulated since 1996 of those too much nights playing Quake 1 with people on the Net. The fact that Quake 1 is more a boring event when playing on the Net with those bots all the time ( when your suppose to know that I'm still playing only with my keyboard, without any .cfg file, pure Quake of the good old days in 1996); just pushed me off a little of the scene. AM walking 3.7Km/day +some little bit gym and I feel way lot better now. Lost 10 pounds in 3-4 weeks and I have to loose anothe 7 pounds. Once this reached, I'll be more editing probably; with WORLDCRAFT, of course!

Later all, keep up the good work everybody.

P.S.: Austin, listen those guys, they have alot of experience and me too, my maps aren't the best fun played by the people making many mistake about my textures home made, didn;t know what's going on with the palette of color and stuff like that... but if your like me, you won't never stop doing editing. You might be working harder, or less... but you won't stop.

"... Do what you like to do "

QuakeMapDesigner
http://pages.infinit.net/quakemap
"where imagination means, Levels!"

#29 sorry/yay
by Grahf 18/03/2001 - 13:42:02 (209.145.71.87)
Go to top of page  
Sorry XenoN, my qED rip may have been out of line. It's just an old editor, and got grouped together with some of the crap.

qmd: yay! join the flock!

#30 Fix couldn't be arsed with a title
by Fix 07/05/2001 - 08:25:17 (195.205.23.98)
Go to top of page  
uhahhahahaha

Add your Comments below. Go to top of page
Nick Name :
Email Address :
Refers to Post :
Title :
Comments :

MPQ Design by James Kable Healey.
CGI code by Paul Healey
CGI and Content Copyright Paul Healey 2001/2000/1999/1998
with the exception of reviews which are copyright of the author.
Design Copyright Kable Kreations 2001/2000