News
Latest News
Pending Reviews
Submit maps
Back to MPQ Archive
Back to Pauked.com
Please note this site is provided just for fun, it's not meant to be fully functional...

Reviews
(8) Bovine Intervention
(34) Hatebreeder
(6) Evil spacehamste...
(6) Unnamed (remix o...
(14) The Limbo Of Bro...
(3) WerdDM2 - Crania...
(30) Old Crater
(10) MisDM12 - Terra ...
(4) The Ravage II
(28) Daedalus Revisited
Last 4 weeks (name)
Last 4 weeks (date)

Comments
Last 25 posts

Articles
Links
Rants
Interviews
#terrafusion stats

Archives
By Map Name
By Author
By Score
By Date
News Archive

Search
Reviews

Top 10s
Best Maps
Worst Maps

Site
Contact & Help!
Comments/Suggestions
Account
Stats
View User List






[Get Opera!]

Circle Strafe (1 on 1)
Comments (16) Go to top of page  
Ok, fullbright Un-vised box map time lads. What we have here is a classic "Should never have seen the light of day" type map. We all know the ones... At first glance I never noticed the gaping holes in the walls that lead out into the void, or the nasty custom textures, but I did notice the horribly fullbright lighting. My mind was telling me that the map was not lit OR vised at all but after a while of searching around (and finding more leaks) I eventually found what could be called "a shadow".

The layout comprised of a box in the middle of the map with a circular corridor running around it, this corridor is linked to the box in the middle via corridors every 90 degrees. The map is all on one level and thus no vertical fighting at all, the only way your going to get on top of your opponent on this map is to Rocket jump onto his head...

Combat is dull and uninterresting thanks to the lack of cover, Z-axis support and lighting. Weapons and items seem to be just spread around for good measure with only the rocket launcher in the central area making any sense...

On a finishing note, some advice for the author. If you are going to release a map then make sure it is fully vis'ed and lighted BEFORE you upload it. Badly made / Un'vised maps run very poorly and generally show YOU up as a bad mapper... This map would have been greatly improved if there was more than one level to play on and lighting was much better.

DaZ

Download Here (157Kb)
Dale
Author Site
Reviewed : 09/02/2001

#1 ToadWarrior doesn't like titles
by ToadWarrior 09/02/2001 - 19:28:12 (64.91.144.247)
Go to top of page  
nasty

#2 well, uhh
by mal 09/02/2001 - 22:03:30 (209.198.116.113)
Go to top of page  
some of the textures were aligned, weren't they?

#3 Now...
by Rotpig 10/02/2001 - 00:06:35 (203.35.83.3)
Go to top of page  
With a little more work here and there, this map wouldnt be so bad. Even tho the layout is TOTALLY symettrical, it does have something going for it. (half of Id Q3A maps are symettrical in nature, not that this is a good thing)

I noticed that when you play with bots, they almost ALWAYS get stuck in walls when they respawn which is VERY shite.

Sorry Daz but I just have to agree with you on this one :)

#4 Yes, ok... I know it was bad.
by SulSeeker 10/02/2001 - 22:33:42 (12.25.165.72)
Go to top of page  
But this was a little map I constructed for a LAN party with some friends of mine. We actually had some fun with it, tho the gaps in the walls were due to the editor (Qoole 2.50.) As for the full bright, it was the lights were too bright, it was vis'ed.

Working harder tho, it's a learning experiment. I promise my next one WILL be better (alog with some sort of vertical fighting, I just don't have a good grasp of triggers... yet.)

#5 Need a tester?
by Rotpig 11/02/2001 - 08:26:41 (203.35.83.4)
Go to top of page  
Sulseeker, if you need someone to thrash out your maps and help you tweak 'em, I'm your man.

Send me any maps you have at beta stage.

#6 Same old story...
by XeNoN 13/02/2001 - 17:29:00 (212.126.141.28)
Go to top of page  
"But this was a little map I constructed for a LAN party with some friends of mine. "

I've seen that excuse before, with "perpnrg" by Satanix. There's nowt wrong with making and uploading substandard maps for private use, but try making a decent one before you unleash it on Paul and da crew here at mpq.

#7 respec'
by Drannerz 14/02/2001 - 13:13:40 (62.172.86.131) Refers to post #6
Go to top of page  
Damn right xenon...I hate the old "but it's just a little map I knocked together in a few minutes, it wasn't meant to be good" excuse

-Drannerz

#8 Well...
by BlackPope 14/02/2001 - 16:24:23 (209.52.215.27) Refers to post #6
Go to top of page  
Well you can't get testy about someone releasing a map of pure shyte (no offense)to mpq, as the point is to review all QDM maps no matter the quality...It's a great way for learning mappers to gain input, ideas, and general help all around... er uh, where was I...If only top notch maps were reviewed at MPQ... we wouldn't need any rating system would we? Or it would be rated out of 2!
or like a cheesy western "Good , Bad, or Ugly"

:)
(I'm still alive, tho my cpu is fuxx0rd, I shall not be very active until I aquire my new one )

BP

#9 Blackpope! :)
by Fern 15/02/2001 - 03:08:25 (141.222.155.61) Refers to post #8
Go to top of page  
I thought of you when I played this map: It's not a f*cking box. It's not two f*cking boxes. It's five f*cking boxes.

#11 Austin_Brock chickened out with a title
by Austin_Brock 22/02/2001 - 09:01:00 (62.255.0.4)
Go to top of page  
Wooooooo........ after reading this, I'm glad my map might have a fighting chance, I played this one and thought, my mum could do better (Ok, she couldn't), but still as a first attempt its not too bad, I suggest using Worldcraft. Mine is my first attempt so please go easy on me! :)

#12 Ooops
by Austin_Brock 22/02/2001 - 09:01:51 (62.255.0.4)
Go to top of page  
sorry, clicked refresh, never knew that this would happen. :)

#13 First attempt
by Fern 22/02/2001 - 10:00:29 (141.222.155.61)
Go to top of page  
My first attempt was a huge box with one fairly dim light in one of the corners and several hovering cubes of water, with no exits or items.

I didn't release it ;)

#14 LOL
by DaZ 24/02/2001 - 07:23:47 (213.122.16.16)
Go to top of page  
<nt>

#15 And for my next Project
by SulSeeker 28/02/2001 - 03:23:04 (12.25.165.72)
Go to top of page  
OK, I should have the next map for you folks this week.

And I have a few optical illusions I thought ya'll will like... Which I haven't seen in any map before. It's just a one time... Woah... sorta thing... but I'll work.

Thanks for being so constructive, It HAS made me want to do ALOT better. and try alot harder in what I can create.

ZOT!!!!!!!!!!!!

#16 Bad to worse
by Sven 26/09/2001 - 16:12:22 (209.173.216.140)
Go to top of page  
Bad: Releasing a newbie map just made for your LAN buddies rather than waiting until you've refined your technique.

Worse: Chastizing the poor, upstart mapper for taking a big risk, putting his ego on the line and publishing his first work.

#17 Hmmmm....
by DaZ 22/02/2002 - 19:12:53 (213.122.140.163)
Go to top of page  
"tho the gaps in the walls were due to the editor"

So how the hell did it vis?

Add your Comments below. Go to top of page
Nick Name :
Email Address :
Refers to Post :
Title :
Comments :

MPQ Design by James Kable Healey.
CGI code by Paul Healey
CGI and Content Copyright Paul Healey 2001/2000/1999/1998
with the exception of reviews which are copyright of the author.
Design Copyright Kable Kreations 2001/2000