News
Latest News
Pending Reviews
Submit maps
Back to MPQ Archive
Back to Pauked.com
Please note this site is provided just for fun, it's not meant to be fully functional...

Reviews
(8) Bovine Intervention
(34) Hatebreeder
(6) Evil spacehamste...
(6) Unnamed (remix o...
(14) The Limbo Of Bro...
(3) WerdDM2 - Crania...
(30) Old Crater
(10) MisDM12 - Terra ...
(4) The Ravage II
(28) Daedalus Revisited
Last 4 weeks (name)
Last 4 weeks (date)

Comments
Last 25 posts

Articles
Links
Rants
Interviews
#terrafusion stats

Archives
By Map Name
By Author
By Score
By Date
News Archive

Search
Reviews

Top 10s
Best Maps
Worst Maps

Site
Contact & Help!
Comments/Suggestions
Account
Stats
View User List






[Get Opera!]

Chanthood (2 to 4)
Comments (5) Go to top of page  
At first glance this runic-style map appears to be decked in classic id metal, but look again: Kingpin textures adorn the walls, while id metal acts as trim. There are also swathes of discoloured planking, which looks a little strange at first. However, you'll soon get used to it.

Architecturally, it's a large two-level atrium with a split level floor and three side pods holding stairwells and heavy weapons. Curved buttresses and cutouts in the walls frame nice views of the blood red sky. This is a relatively simple, straightforward layout and you'll know it like the back of your hand in no time.

Low end/software users should give this map a miss due to r_speed issues: in the central atrium there's almost constant greyflash if you look along the long diagonal. R_speeds tended to reach 700 and above. On my box anyway.

DM is a slugfest with people running inside for weapons and outside again for ammo and fraggies. If your system can handle it, give the map a whirl.

A Single Player version is included which blocks off the stairwells, and you have to get runes, kill all monsters, repeat until the exit opens. Great stuff.

Fat Controller

Download Here (538Kb)
Shaun "Kona" Ross
Author Site
Reviewed : 10/02/2001

#1 ooooooooooooooh
by DaZ 11/02/2001 - 11:58:50 (62.7.56.99)
Go to top of page  
I love the build style of this map. [kona] please please please make a larger SP map in this style cos it would look so sw33m :) As a Dm map it plays nicely 1 on 1 and is very tactical. Nice job, but I want bigger!! :)

#2 i change my mind..
by CardO 11/02/2001 - 12:18:07 (213.122.50.152)
Go to top of page  
when u showed me the beta of this map i hates the textures, but now they make me jizm! i love it [Kona] ! mmmmmm jizm.

#3 software :)
by Fern 11/02/2001 - 12:25:33 (141.222.155.61)
Go to top of page  
<Fern> When I played the fast-vised beta, the entire screen was grey :)
<[Kona]> How did you play it?
<Fern> Very carefully

#4 Fatty and his revs...
by XeNoN 13/02/2001 - 17:35:08 (212.126.141.28)
Go to top of page  
They all seem to be a bit vague, and always offerring "3/5" or other average marks. I would have preffered a more detailed review.

But the map? Looks great, plays poorly. More effort should have been put in designing the layout, with speed in mind.

Overall I guess I would have given it 3, so I guess I'm contradicting myself. Oh well. Shoot me later.

#5 Faulty Rubber Throttle Cable Grommets
by Fat Controller 14/02/2001 - 05:05:01 (203.96.111.200) Refers to post #4
Go to top of page  
(sorry, I can't get it out of my head)

Actually, I tend to look for the better parts of maps, which is strange since I'm very much the faulty rubber throttle cable grommet - sorry, pessimist.

Yes, Kona's map is unplayable in a serious game on my system, but the architecture was good. Maybe I'm overcompensating for my faulty rubber throttle cable grommet - damn it! low end computer.

Back when MPQ was on PlanetQuake, I did more 4-5 star reviews; maybe it's time I was more extreme in my reviewing, like CHQMD.

Add your Comments below. Go to top of page
Nick Name :
Email Address :
Refers to Post :
Title :
Comments :

MPQ Design by James Kable Healey.
CGI code by Paul Healey
CGI and Content Copyright Paul Healey 2001/2000/1999/1998
with the exception of reviews which are copyright of the author.
Design Copyright Kable Kreations 2001/2000