News
Latest News
Pending Reviews
Submit maps
Back to MPQ Archive
Back to Pauked.com
Please note this site is provided just for fun, it's not meant to be fully functional...

Reviews
(8) Bovine Intervention
(34) Hatebreeder
(6) Evil spacehamste...
(6) Unnamed (remix o...
(14) The Limbo Of Bro...
(3) WerdDM2 - Crania...
(30) Old Crater
(10) MisDM12 - Terra ...
(4) The Ravage II
(28) Daedalus Revisited
Last 4 weeks (name)
Last 4 weeks (date)

Comments
Last 25 posts

Articles
Links
Rants
Interviews
#terrafusion stats

Archives
By Map Name
By Author
By Score
By Date
News Archive

Search
Reviews

Top 10s
Best Maps
Worst Maps

Site
Contact & Help!
Comments/Suggestions
Account
Stats
View User List






[Get Opera!]

MisDM7 - FragCraft (1-on-1)
Comments (19) Go to top of page  
BBBiiiizzzztt… Visual overload

Some people have described this map as messy but I'd said it's detailed. Barrels of toxic waste are placed with reckless abandonment, floor tiles have been torn up, bricks have somehow been removed from the walls and now are scattered across the floor, cracks are starting to appear and one particular floor section has crumbled away completely.

It has, however, adversely affected how the map plays. The layout is very simple, two triple floored rectangles connected by a couple of double L shaped corridors and a small flooded room containing a MH. The problem is that I think too much time has gone into making it look nice and not into how it should play. It is just not as well connected as it could have been and seems to flow like 1-way traffic.

Lighting is also a bit of a problem. It's more than a little dark in a couple of spots. Pitch black would be a good description. Most of the playing surface is lit ok though so it isn't all bad.

It is again, as you've properly guessed, best played 1-on-1. Frags seem to come in quick successive spurts and kept swapping between each player. That meant the game was fairly close throughout and I found playing to a frag limit was the most fun.

I would love to see Misyu attempt a map on a grander scale and see what he can do with his talents that way.

Finally, see if you can reach the two messages which have been put in a couple of ridiculous places without cheating (I managed it*).

* This is a lie.

Paul

Download Here (380Kb)
Michal 'MisYu' Skinder
Author Site
Reviewed : 08/01/2001

#1 detail...
by rotpig 08/01/2001 - 20:05:45 (203.35.83.3)
Go to top of page  
yup, that could be said. Impressively done. One thing that got me was how impossible it seems to get the MH. I mean, if you dont rjump it, its too far away to jump normally. I like how the floor sections were ripped up, making it look run down and battered.

#2 Megahealth
by Fern 08/01/2001 - 23:03:39 (24.147.243.193)
Go to top of page  
No, I've jumped to it without explosives a few times. I've only made it once while in the middle of a fight though. It's the red armor I can't figure out.

#3 Rotpig & Fern
by Paul 09/01/2001 - 03:26:41 (213.123.44.157) Refers to post #2
Go to top of page  
You can get both the MH and RA by normally jumping for them. The MH isn't too bad where as the RA is really pushing the limits of how far you can jump. As daft as it sounds if you go at the jump slightly sideways that seems to work.

#4 Textures
by QuakeMapDesigner 09/01/2001 - 05:21:22 (24.200.48.151)
Go to top of page  
Hi.
I've just donwloaded and played that level and just to see the screenshots i was kinda impressed of the nature of the textures. I like cool maps that could looks like real world.. and i think thi sone is just falling directly in my kinda style of maps. This map is really good looking and cheer's for that map.
Probably only small bit problems would be the r_speeds getting in someplaces.. as close to 1000... not sure , but it's fine for me.
I hope MisYu will give us other cool brick cool looking maps in some other real area. Thanks for getting this great product free.

QuakeMapDesigner.
http://pages.infinit.net/quakemap

#5 Jesus christ...
by Shambler 09/01/2001 - 05:22:52 (194.112.32.101)
Go to top of page  
...you lot ever heard of STRAFE JUMPING or CURVE JUMPING??

#6 Ah yes, I was doing a strafe jump
by Paul 09/01/2001 - 08:06:06 (212.158.46.251) Refers to post #5
Go to top of page  
I forgot what it was called.

#7 ?
by MisYu 09/01/2001 - 08:25:10 (213.76.244.129)
Go to top of page  
"The problem is that I think too much time has gone into making it look nice and not into how it should play"

I made details in one day at all..
Well, I spent about two weeks with testing it with alive players on net, not only with bots (besides, bots suck on misdm7, because they cannot reach MH or RA).
In further versions were more items, 2xYA + 1xRA, lots of ammo, second RL, three teleporters etc. It was like rocket arena, where everybody has everything, so I decided to change it and make gameplay more tactical and dm4-stylish.

Vondur said: "this is a hardcore map"- and I agreed with that, it isn't for bots and -personally- it's easy to navigate, domine and defend, but you have to known the map and known some hardcore tricks (i.e. strafe jumping, bunnies)..

MH and RA are easy to reach by strafe jump, as Shambler said (I made this map for QW, but you can also do it in NQ). You can even jump from RA to SNG-ledge or from barrels in MH on MH-ledge or from LG-barrel to corner-barrel. Education demos soon ;)

Thanks for reviews, Paul. I'm going to make MisDM8 now.. :)

P. S. Sorry everybody for my english.. :)

#8 Wait a fooking minute
by Paul 09/01/2001 - 08:38:49 (212.158.46.206) Refers to post #5
Go to top of page  
I seem to remember you saying in irc it wasn't until recently (ie when you starting playing BZ2) that you started using strafe.

#9 strafe jumping...
by rotpig 09/01/2001 - 10:13:38 (203.35.83.4) Refers to post #5
Go to top of page  
I can strafe jump. (curve jumping is basicly the same hey?) But it is still damn friggin hard to get that MH. 'tis easier to get the RA. Shambler, so quick to judge! Whats this about "hardcore maps"??? So, tell me this, if a map is a prick to get items and bots can't play it, thats a hardcore map? ahhh...

#10 MisYu couldn't be arsed with a title
by MisYu 09/01/2001 - 11:06:03 (213.76.244.129)
Go to top of page  
Personally, hardcore map is a map with a lots of tricks to do and a little amount of items, so you should think before you move or you'll lose whole domination. And, why not- hardcore map is a map where can play only a human. IE some shit maps from ftp.cdrom.com are really hardcore :))))))))

I just would like to say, that misdm7 is well tested and works fine (for me). No one of my q-friends have problem with reach MH/RA, it's really possible, so please don't say that I didn't test it :)

#12 Paul, yeah...
by Shambler 09/01/2001 - 13:42:31 (194.112.32.102)
Go to top of page  
I still can't actually strafe jump due to my weirdo config, but ages ago I learnt to curve jump, i.e. start the jump at an angle and curve back as soon as you jump, which gives you more speed, like a strafe jump but not as effective. MH in this map is extremely easy to get this way, RA is a bit harder.

BTW, I was using curve jumping at least 6 months before Q2 trick move guys like Julios (name?) discovered it and made a huge thing about circle jumping. In fact it's highly likely I invented it full stop as I doubt there is anyone else on the planet who is both interested in trick moves but can't strafe jump... Of course for me it was nothing to be proud of, it was something I had to use instead of proper strafe jumping because I sucked =).

#14 Does Circle (Curve) Jumping and Bunnyhopping in Q1
by loTTe ohm 09/01/2001 - 14:32:53 (145.253.147.142) Refers to post #12
Go to top of page  
really work the way it does in Q2? Cause in Q1 I can't make them effectivly (if at all).

#15 Lotte, yeah for sure
by Shambler 10/01/2001 - 12:04:12 (194.112.32.102)
Go to top of page  
Not quite as effective as Q2 but it certainly does work. Would you like a demo?? Pick a jump and I'll try it... I'll try to make it clear how I do it too...

#16 In fact I would be satisfied to know how...
by loTTe ohm 10/01/2001 - 15:14:33 (145.253.146.107) Refers to post #15
Go to top of page  
...to gain some speed with bunnies. I don't get much faster than just walking. And compared with the awesome speeds in Q2 this seems pretty sloooow. As it is always claimed that Q1 is the much faster game, there has to be more to it... :)

#17 bunnies
by rotpig 10/01/2001 - 18:42:24 (203.35.83.3) Refers to post #14
Go to top of page  
when you jump, face diagonally in the direction your going... this is pretty hard to describe! sounds stupid but it kinda works like that. Maybe get a demo or something. face forward (as your running along) then, using the strafe key (left or right) move sideways as well as forwards, on this angle you can move faster and jump longer. BAH!, get a demo.

#20 practice
by Rotpig 10/01/2001 - 18:49:04 (203.35.83.3)
Go to top of page  
Things like this just come with lots of practice and screwing about. Ive noticed in Q3 that jumping as you move along can increase your speed DRAMATICALLY! Just keeps getting faster and faster, untill you are literally flying along.

#21 Lotte ohm
by MisYu 11/01/2001 - 08:37:40 (213.76.244.129)
Go to top of page  
Bunnies are easy in QW, in NQ you'll never be so fast..

#22 Hah, thnx for that hint, MisYu!
by loTTe ohm 11/01/2001 - 17:32:51 (212.144.216.177)
Go to top of page  
Ok, maybe I should just try that instead of jumping insanely around in NQ!
Thnx also to Rotpig for the explanation, but basically I know very well how to bunny (I always thought it should cause some damage to hit a wall at 85 km/h in q2dm1!).
Oh, by the way: Does anyone know how that bug (that bunnies obviously are?!) did get into QW after not being that present in NQ?

#23 for jumping tutorial and demos...
by Bilirubin 13/01/2001 - 16:13:07 (24.112.32.14)
Go to top of page  
check out Challenge-NZ's Jumping Guide

Add your Comments below. Go to top of page
Nick Name :
Email Address :
Refers to Post :
Title :
Comments :

MPQ Design by James Kable Healey.
CGI code by Paul Healey
CGI and Content Copyright Paul Healey © 2001/2000/1999/1998
with the exception of reviews which are copyright of the author.
Design Copyright Kable Kreations © 2001/2000