News
Latest News
Pending Reviews
Submit maps
Back to MPQ Archive
Back to Pauked.com
Please note this site is provided just for fun, it's not meant to be fully functional...

Reviews
(8) Bovine Intervention
(34) Hatebreeder
(6) Evil spacehamste...
(6) Unnamed (remix o...
(14) The Limbo Of Bro...
(3) WerdDM2 - Crania...
(30) Old Crater
(10) MisDM12 - Terra ...
(4) The Ravage II
(28) Daedalus Revisited
Last 4 weeks (name)
Last 4 weeks (date)

Comments
Last 25 posts

Articles
Links
Rants
Interviews
#terrafusion stats

Archives
By Map Name
By Author
By Score
By Date
News Archive

Search
Reviews

Top 10s
Best Maps
Worst Maps

Site
Contact & Help!
Comments/Suggestions
Account
Stats
View User List






[Get Opera!]

Industrial Disease (1-on-1, 3-6 ffa)
Comments (13) Go to top of page  
Reincarnation and some gritty Quake 2 textures cover this double atrium map from Kayin. The styling of the architecture in this map is a little oddball. There are some really cool looking bits but what I found weird were the thin strips of brown metal with spot lights on them that where along the top of some of the towering walls.

The layout is made up of two elongated rectangular rooms connected long ways by two corridors. The impression of the place being in disrepair is well executed with huge cracks and gapping holes in the outer walls and slabs of them being splayed out on the ground. In the middle-adjoining corridor it dips downwards in a V shape and the walls on either side are broken with a shallow stream of water going across the orange tiled floor. One side is accessible and in here is the Quad.

The inclusion of the teleporters in the two water sections is very welcome and makes exiting there a lot easier.

This is an interesting secret intermission room that comes into use if you play a game with a set limit on it. A picture of some poor deranged manga/anime type girl mindlessly stares at you whilst a booming drone noise goes in sync with the pulsating lighting. Odd… very odd :).

Ammo is on the low side but there is plenty of weaponry in there (I think all the weapons are in there) so it's not like you haven't got something to shoot with. 1-on-1 ain't too bad. If you keep tabs on the RA/YA/Quad you shouldn't have too many problems. What is slightly different is that most of the health is in the watery sections, as is the MH which underneath one of the ramps. This kinda gives away your location but as I've said earlier the teleporter help make your exit easy.

FFA is quicker but the Quads open placing does spice things up because it can't be guarded easily and so people can just randomly pick it up.

Paul

Download Here (472Kb)
Omicron Bot Route File
Kayin
Author Site
Reviewed : 03/01/2001

#1 Room To Move
by rotpig 03/01/2001 - 20:13:44 (203.35.83.4)
Go to top of page  
Love this map because of how much room you have. Dont like DM that is too restricted. Moves really fast with and as Paul said, It's hard to control the Quad where it is, being at a central point of the map.

Intermission screen... weird.

#2 Nice
by ToadWarrior 03/01/2001 - 23:03:04 (209.173.76.5)
Go to top of page  
The intermission screen kicked ass.

The layout was pretty good. I disiked the color of the teleporters(tiny complaint) and I didn't like some parts, like the broken bridge or that tight opening in the hole near the curved teleporter. It's still pretty good and I'll probably keep it.

#3 boo
by Kayin 03/01/2001 - 23:07:29 (216.127.0.109)
Go to top of page  
honestly, i hate this map.
burn it. =D

#4 ...
by Kayin 03/01/2001 - 23:09:22 (216.127.0.109)
Go to top of page  
at least compared to what i'm working on now.
i've learned a lot... too much horizontal and not enough vertical..

don't worry, me and rotpig's little project will remedy all faults.

#5 Hell yeah!
by Fern 03/01/2001 - 23:44:47 (24.147.243.193) Refers to post #4
Go to top of page  
I'm eagerly awaiting that project Kayin, Rotpig, both of you. :)

#6 BTW
by ToadWarrior 04/01/2001 - 01:57:28 (209.173.76.25)
Go to top of page  
I love the use of those texture(from Daikatana right?) to let folks know where the rl and stuff is. Even if someone's taken the weapon, it's very easy to learn where things are so you know where to go.

I played through it again, testing some modifications I made to the reaper bot. It's growing on me, even if I still dislike the telelporter texture. :)

#7 Daika-WHAT???
by Fern 04/01/2001 - 02:01:15 (24.147.243.193) Refers to post #6
Go to top of page  
more posting while I compile again, those textures are from decon.wad by stecki

#8 KAYIN!!!!
by rotpig 04/01/2001 - 09:31:49 (203.35.83.4) Refers to post #4
Go to top of page  
guess youve let it out of the bag. People will be waiting for a release date now, then we'll be forced to let them all down by never releasing it (or doing the diablo2 thing and release it 2˝ years off cue)... (thats one possibility)
Now that Kayin's mentioned it, I'll say it "officially"

Kayin and I have decided that we will make a short single player map pak (all maps supporting deathmatch ofcourse) 6 maps in all with a good variety of Classic styled themes to bring back the good ol' spirit of Quake. Not that there will be any homage maps here (I hate that sort of shit) We are just hoping to create some fast paced, short and easy to navigate maps with lots of kills... and secrets. heheehe.

#9 Dont burn it
by rotpig 04/01/2001 - 09:34:21 (203.35.83.4) Refers to post #3
Go to top of page  
Whether you like it or not, Kayin, it is actually a good map. You should be proud of it. It does create an original feel and is fun to play. What else matters?

#10 what cat? what bag?
by Kayin 04/01/2001 - 10:06:19 (156.63.145.122) Refers to post #8
Go to top of page  
meow?

#11 re : KAYIN!!!!
by Paul 04/01/2001 - 17:49:24 (193.113.185.131) Refers to post #8
Go to top of page  
Sounds good. Looking forward to seeing what you two come up with.

#12 Re:Daika-WHAT???
by ToadWarrior 04/01/2001 - 18:14:39 (209.173.76.44) Refers to post #7
Go to top of page  
I could have sworn someone said they were Daikatana so I only assumed that's where they were from. :(

They still kick ass.

#13 i love this map
by XeNoN 17/03/2001 - 16:39:59 (212.126.135.3) Refers to post #3
Go to top of page  
:P

Add your Comments below. Go to top of page
Nick Name :
Email Address :
Refers to Post :
Title :
Comments :

MPQ Design by James Kable Healey.
CGI code by Paul Healey
CGI and Content Copyright Paul Healey © 2001/2000/1999/1998
with the exception of reviews which are copyright of the author.
Design Copyright Kable Kreations © 2001/2000