News
Latest News
Pending Reviews
Submit maps
Back to MPQ Archive
Back to Pauked.com
Please note this site is provided just for fun, it's not meant to be fully functional...

Reviews
(8) Bovine Intervention
(34) Hatebreeder
(6) Evil spacehamste...
(6) Unnamed (remix o...
(14) The Limbo Of Bro...
(3) WerdDM2 - Crania...
(30) Old Crater
(10) MisDM12 - Terra ...
(4) The Ravage II
(28) Daedalus Revisited
Last 4 weeks (name)
Last 4 weeks (date)

Comments
Last 25 posts

Articles
Links
Rants
Interviews
#terrafusion stats

Archives
By Map Name
By Author
By Score
By Date
News Archive

Search
Reviews

Top 10s
Best Maps
Worst Maps

Site
Contact & Help!
Comments/Suggestions
Account
Stats
View User List






[Get Opera!]

Attack Vector (1-on-1, 3-ffa)
Comments (33) Go to top of page  
This is an impressive first map from CardO. Borrowing one or two Quake 2 textures gives the map an industrial gritty feel. It's heavily grey and brown coloured what with the diamond brown floor tiling and pseudo-indented grey wall panelling. Its not all doom and gloom though there is a dash of greenery, which can be seen in the maps only outdoor section.

I do feel though that there is too much variation in the texturing. There are two short corridor sections decorated out in efdm12 style textures which looks plain odd given how the rest of the map looks. And I seem to remember one of the maps testers mentioning this to CardO… wink, wink, nudge, nudge, say no more. There are also a couple of dodgy looking textures, and unfortunately some of the alignment isn't up to scratch when the textures at different floor levels meet up. That said if you look at the patterns on these adjoining textures it would be impossible to match them up without putting in some kind of joining texture.

Anyway, there are 2 main sections to the map, both of which can be seen in the screen shots dotted about the review. The huge tubular construction you see in the indoor area is open for people to dive into and then to be hurtled at a great rate of knots through a barrage of tubing out into the outdoor area of the map from the gapping hole on the right, across to the platform containing the Quad. It's definitely a novel feature, and an extremely nice way of connecting the map up.

Not that connectivity is a problem here. Far from it. Everything seems scaled right, there's plenty of space to jiggle about in and lots of shortcuts to be taken. Rjumping is a big help here and certainly cuts down on travelling time. Along with lots and lots and lots of steps and staircases are teleporters, and the odd wind tunnel.

Lighting is ok. Most of the indoor lighting is bright enough, but outside, it's a different story. There are a couple of dark patches, which make it a little hard to spot other players sometimes.

And speaking of players, the aforementioned openness of the map makes it a riot to play. One of my favourite duelling moments was running backwards around the open wind tunnel in the indoor area whilst blasting rockets back at my opponent. Then dodging back and forth around it, dropping 'nades and waiting for the death shower of gibs to appear.

Again, this is another FFA kinda map. Teamplay would no doubt work, but I didn't try it out.

Paul

Download Here (490Kb)
CardO
Reviewed : 06/12/2000

#1 Bane is afraid of typing too much
by Bane 06/12/2000 - 21:09:43 (62.252.160.4)
Go to top of page  
Doesnt beat Rooms tho does it little bro...hehe

#2 Not bad..
by maiden 06/12/2000 - 22:24:30 (141.117.249.19)
Go to top of page  
Not bad at all.

Say Paul, is there any way you can change the review format so that the comments appear right with the review (doesn't that make more sense?)

#3 Hey Cardo
by Yogi 07/12/2000 - 00:38:24 (172.137.85.86)
Go to top of page  
I'm downloading this puppy right now, just wanted to congratulate you on finally finishing and releasing a map! I knew you could do it!! hehe. Keep it up and roll on with carddm2.

#4 re : Not Bad
by Paul 07/12/2000 - 02:56:23 (212.140.4.133) Refers to post #2
Go to top of page  
Nope, it doesn't make sense :).

#6 /me slaps Yogi
by Paul 07/12/2000 - 04:08:45 (212.158.46.214) Refers to post #3
Go to top of page  
Where have you been? You seemed to disappear for a while there. You weren't off stealing pic-a-nic baskets were you?

#7 W0w...
by Shambler 07/12/2000 - 04:34:40 (194.112.32.102)
Go to top of page  
After all this fannying about, arseing around, and generally giving the impression your maps would be Duke4Everware, you actually made and released something AND it looks pretty cool. I will check it out when I can, but congratulations anyway!!

#8 Ah...
by Yogi 07/12/2000 - 07:08:04 (172.137.85.86)
Go to top of page  
Well I just played the map a little there, and what can I say.. I'm impressed Dan! I remember seeing this map a while back and didn't look half as good as it does now, so it was a nice surprise to see that you had totally retextured it before release :)

Plays good too btw, keep it up bud!

#9 Beans on toast
by Yogi 07/12/2000 - 07:21:48 (172.137.85.86) Refers to post #6
Go to top of page  
Hey Paul, aye.. I finally got done by the coppers for nicking picnic baskets, I guess I stole one too many? And at this time of year not many people sit outdoors to have a picnic anyways, well not if they’re perfectly sane and plan surviving the winter. So I guess it’s back to my hibernation then. :)

Oh, I got a little Quake 1 map in the works (I don’t know if you read my .plan updates?), and I’ll be looking for beta testers; interested? It’s a small – tight – vertical map covered in, dare I say it – the IKBASE set :) So I’m sure everyone will just hate it because of that fact.. hehe. Let me know if you’d want to crash dummy it sometime.

Catch ya later, oh, and the sites looking/working good, and the site logo finally grew on me.. I never thought I'd see the day!

#10 Well card0...
by Malevola 07/12/2000 - 07:32:11 (198.115.167.172)
Go to top of page  
The map is better than the beta I saw, taking out those bars on the ends of those hallways over that teleporter near the RA was a good idea, I just think you shoulda made that jump a bit easier. maybe if you angled those walls so the lip stuck out further or just made a longer lip. I like jumping over stuff like that. like the jumps in ZTNdm1 or whichever it was. I think it was 1. bah, maybe I should go check his page.

I'm also disappointed at the lack of n3470 53(R37x0rZ! I think there shoulda been a sweet near-impossible rocketjump to something useless like a ringofshadows. (pronounced "ringo fhaddoes"). well, I haven't played it as I was only able to sneek a peek in fear of having been discovered playing "INTERNET QUAKE!" by my mother. heh. spaz. Luckily I had "turned off internet" before I went to check it out so she wouldn't know I was on the line. muahaha. too r33t!

btw, the texturing, close enough m8. those two notched textures actually lined up to make a pretty sweet pattern.

good job cardoh. maybe next time some reet seecreets is it?

#11 Sure thing on the beta test
by Paul 07/12/2000 - 08:42:36 (212.158.46.202) Refers to post #4
Go to top of page  
Give us a tinkle with the details.

I did notice you were doing a qdm map. I popped by FreshTeam this morning since it was mentioned on Qmap and saw it on the previews page.

Also, I didn't know you guys did .plan updates. Maybe I should look a bit closer next time :).

#12 Weird, messed up my refer to
by Paul 07/12/2000 - 08:47:13 (212.158.46.202) Refers to post #9
Go to top of page  
Have a look at post #11 Yogi.

#14 *grinning politely*
by CardO 07/12/2000 - 11:29:24 (195.92.194.107)
Go to top of page  
Thanks for the kind words everyone :) glad ya liked it. and i was Amazed to read Shambler's congratulating post :) cheers shamb :p and y'all !

#15 Vetical?
by GrindSpire 07/12/2000 - 13:43:33 (213.120.62.70) Refers to post #9
Go to top of page  
Don't believe him, it is corridor hell! Well, not really, but I like winding you up John.

#16 Cheers!
by Yogi 07/12/2000 - 14:17:54 (172.137.85.86) Refers to post #11
Go to top of page  
Thanks Paul! I'll post you a URL on the weekend, I'm just finishing up a map for that *cough* Quake *cough* 3 *cough* game right now, so Iwon't be able to finsih it up till then. Anyways, aye.. we have .plan updates on the FT site, and even I forgot that after a while. as you'll read.. hehe.

Thanks again.

#17 /me pokes Chris with a chainsaw...
by Yogi 07/12/2000 - 14:20:30 (172.137.85.86) Refers to post #15
Go to top of page  
*evil grin*

Oh, and btw.. congrats, your new map just got a very respectable review at MapReviews.com/QIC II "http://quake3.mapreviews.com/dm/gs3dm4.shtml"... is that ok to post on this site? hehe.

#18 mmmmm....
by Yogi 07/12/2000 - 14:22:19 (172.137.85.86)
Go to top of page  
Why did half of that URL just vanish? freaky...

#19 Mwhwhwhahahaha
by Paul 07/12/2000 - 14:36:46 (193.113.185.162) Refers to post #18
Go to top of page  
The site ate it. I made it so it parses and shortens long pieces of text to avoid the old "break the site tables" trick :).

#20 Not bad at all...
by Drannerz 09/12/2000 - 15:45:05 (193.113.185.130)
Go to top of page  
I just wish my first quake map had been this good.
I think I'll leave it at that...'nuff said

Drannerz 8¬]

#21 First map?
by GrindSpire 10/12/2000 - 14:18:45 (193.113.185.162)
Go to top of page  
What about DanzDM1?

/me grins evily at CardO

/me licks Rachel

#22 First map???
by Drannerz 10/12/2000 - 14:27:05 (193.113.185.130) Refers to post #21
Go to top of page  
Paul, what about DranzDM1??
It was alright as first maps go, but I wouldn't say it's as good as CardDM1.
I guess it's debatable, but only just.

Drannerz 8¬]

#23 I didn't say DranzDM1
by GrindSpire 10/12/2000 - 14:37:48 (193.113.185.162) Refers to post #22
Go to top of page  
I said DanzDM1, CardO knows what I mean =)

#24 I laugh in your face!
by CardO 10/12/2000 - 21:43:54 (195.92.194.17)
Go to top of page  
hehe.. Paul said first Released map.. and as i didn't really release danzdm1 then it don't count boy =P but when i get my site up u'll be able to get it from there Grind as i know how much u love it and all.. =o)

#25 D'oh <<slap>>
by Drannerz 11/12/2000 - 15:00:20 (193.113.185.130)
Go to top of page  
Oh fuck it.
I publicly sandpaper my ass as penance for my horrible lack of vision and general inability to read properly.

Drannerz 8¬[

#26 fix the code some one...
by Drannerz 11/12/2000 - 15:05:10 (193.113.185.130)
Go to top of page  
in the title to the previous e-mail the word "slap" should appear within a double set of ickle brackety things (action marks).
emphasis on the word should.
Some one sort it.

Drannerz 8¬]

#27 Errrrrmmmm, no
by Paul 12/12/2000 - 08:15:31 (212.158.46.239) Refers to post #26
Go to top of page  
you fix it.

#29 «slap spank smack»
by Fern 12/12/2000 - 15:25:47 (141.222.155.39)
Go to top of page  
«»«»«»«»«»«»«»«»«»«»«»«»
next time use comillas!
«»«»«»«»«»«»«»«»«»«»«»«»

;)
~¥øµ® /V\ª§+ë®

#30 congratulations card0... !
by excessus 12/12/2000 - 16:54:53 (62.83.96.78)
Go to top of page  
... and remember that now you are prepared for the Real Thing: QUAKE 3!

#31 card0! don't listen!!
by Malevola 13/12/2000 - 14:30:41 (198.115.167.129)
Go to top of page  
damnit ex, what the hell re you trying to do?!?! we need more q1 mappers! hell I was almost pulled over to the darkside myself. I've got 5 q3a maps in progress and frankly, I'm ashamed of it!

#32 the darkside is good for you
by excessus 14/12/2000 - 16:24:17 (212.106.237.95)
Go to top of page  
that´s my point. Who liked Luke in SW movies? he was gay, bland, had lame hair and st00pid lumb eyes... outdated in rough words, just like quake1. But Darth Vader was powerful, strong, carismatic and cool... just like quake3.

So be afraid... be very afraid... and load up q3r. Quake3 0wnz j00.

;)

#33 Yeah but
by Fern 14/12/2000 - 17:39:44 (141.222.155.39)
Go to top of page  
The darkside turned darth into a crusty old guy who couldn't breathe and he changed his mind in the end anyway :)

#34 re : the darkside is good for you
by Paul 14/12/2000 - 18:50:50 (193.113.185.130) Refers to post #32
Go to top of page  
Thats the biggest load of arseburgers I've heard excessus :P. I think its the other way around, Dark Vader is Quake amd Luke is gay, bright, and stupid like Q3a.

#35 plays
by Speedy 15/12/2000 - 21:13:26 (213.158.0.214) Refers to post #14
Go to top of page  
I got owned by bots in FFA, till i figured out the way it plays: just camp RA and spam with grenades/ rockets. If you like, you may go for quad each time it spawns (not that you realy need it for high score) .

Standing at RA you controll both teleports that lead from rl arena and GL room.. too EZ. So it gets boring quite soon.

Might be different with ppl, but still the one at RA will win.

#36 CardO couldn't be arsed with a title
by CardO 16/12/2000 - 23:16:52 (62.7.115.59)
Go to top of page  
well...erm.. that's your choice how u play the map i guess Speedy..if u'r a camp a$$ farmer then u stay by the RA :P and as for the q1/q3 debate i think that the emperor was the crustiest lump of turd ever to be created!!

Add your Comments below. Go to top of page
Nick Name :
Email Address :
Refers to Post :
Title :
Comments :

MPQ Design by James Kable Healey.
CGI code by Paul Healey
CGI and Content Copyright Paul Healey © 2001/2000/1999/1998
with the exception of reviews which are copyright of the author.
Design Copyright Kable Kreations © 2001/2000