News
Latest News
Pending Reviews
Submit maps
Back to MPQ Archive
Back to Pauked.com
Please note this site is provided just for fun, it's not meant to be fully functional...

Reviews
(8) Bovine Intervention
(34) Hatebreeder
(6) Evil spacehamste...
(6) Unnamed (remix o...
(14) The Limbo Of Bro...
(3) WerdDM2 - Crania...
(30) Old Crater
(10) MisDM12 - Terra ...
(4) The Ravage II
(28) Daedalus Revisited
Last 4 weeks (name)
Last 4 weeks (date)

Comments
Last 25 posts

Articles
Links
Rants
Interviews
#terrafusion stats

Archives
By Map Name
By Author
By Score
By Date
News Archive

Search
Reviews

Top 10s
Best Maps
Worst Maps

Site
Contact & Help!
Comments/Suggestions
Account
Stats
View User List






[Get Opera!]

RICH_BAR (2 to 4)
Comments (33) Go to top of page  
I have tried one of QMD's works before - the one set in a hospital - and didn't really enjoy it at all, and the accompanying brouhaha on Qmap even less. This one is set in a friend's apartment.

The structure is a box split into three areas: a central "bar" area, an elevated "pool hall" that also accesses the mezzanine, and a cluster of smaller chambers which emulate the bedroom and amenities. From here you can also reach the mezzanine by lift, but first you have to shoot the ceiling to retract it(!)

Texturing is partly custom and partly id, which is actually very easy on the eyes as some custom textures had severe fullbright speckling in software mode. There's plenty of furniture to run around getting stuck on and jumping over, and some areas are dead ends too. R_speeds get up to 900 sometimes when looking across the level so it might be a bit slow.

Where there's water, there's access to a Megahealth; the mezzanine has the Pentagram and the Quad is behind the bar. Big iron is placed in high traffic locations, making the play somewhat better than you'd expect.

The trick is to stay in the middle with the RL and Quad; the Megahealth is also in easy reach and you can also hurry for the Pent too. I suppose teamplay would be fairly enjoyable, especially with one of the many "realistic weapons" mods about, but despite it being better than I feared I can't say I enjoyed it that much.

Fat Controller

Download Here (285Kb)
QuakeMapDesigner
Author Site
Reviewed : 28/11/2000

#1 The official line.
by John Carmack 29/11/2000 - 16:37:32 (194.112.32.102)
Go to top of page  
We have discussed this map in between Team Arena testing here at id software, and we came to the conclusion it is a complete pile of shit. We didn't design Quake for real life themes, so please don't abuse our game.

Sincerely,
John Carmack,
id software.

#2 Real shit !
by John Romeo 29/11/2000 - 19:32:32 (192.149.228.187)
Go to top of page  
Hi Mr. lol Designer

Am surprise that MPQ accepted to review a shitty level like this. We also tryed with our level designer team and would like to ask why did you put a virus in your map?

The hole department got in trouble after the 5th player joined the game. We lost about a day to reboot our system.

Paul, can you be sure no more funny bad taste level, happen like this again.


John Romero
Project Leader
ION Storm

#3 ID reviewing public maps ?
by Browser [L5M] 29/11/2000 - 19:59:34 (24.201.228.153)
Go to top of page  
I'm surprise to see that ID has taken time to review a map from someone totaly unknown (sorry QMD).

Since when does ID evaluates maps ?

I am also surprise that ID would use the word SHIT to evaluate something and to say in public. Every good company has to maintain somekind of image for public relationship with either other companys or simple folks like us.

Also, a virus in a map ? C'mon !!!! That doesn't exist !!!!

BOTTOM LINE, I DON'T BELIEVE THIS IS REALY COMING FROM ID SOFTWARE. SOMEONE IS POSING AS ID ANS USING THEIRE NAME TO HID THEMSELVES AND MAKING EVERYBODY BELIEVE THAT QMD IS A SHITTY MAPER. IF IT IS TRUE (WICH I DOUGHT !), THEN PROVE IT !!!

#4 THe proof that you are hoaks !
by Browser [L5M] 29/11/2000 - 22:23:32 (24.201.228.153)
Go to top of page  
Subject:
Re: A site using your names to bullshit on other peoples
Date:
Wed, 29 Nov 2000 19:37:02 -0600
From:
[email protected] (Todd Hollenshead)
To:
Browser

Of course that is just a hoax. We can't control message boards and names
that people post under. You have to use a little common sense when reading
these things.

tsh

At 08:20 PM 11/29/00 -0800, you wrote:
>Hi, I am advising you that I have found a site where some people are
>using your names to post in a forum that evaluates maps. They are
>bullshiting on some map evaluations and making everyone believe that it
>is your honnest opinions. Just see below for the link and one perticular
>post using your name. I do not believe that a company like you would
>use such terms to descrive a map from a nobody and saying it in public
>in a forum. If so, please explain this behavior ! I was honnestly
>shocked to see well known companys talking this way.
>
>====================================================================
========
>============
>http://www.multiplayerquake.com/mpq-cgi/MPQCGI.EXE?VIEW=VIEWCOMMENTS
&REVIEW_LINK=16869
>====================================================================
========
>============
>>
>>#1 The official line.
>>by John Carmack 11/29/00 - 4:37:32 PM (194.112.32.102)
>>
> >
>>We have discussed this map in between Team Arena testing here at id
>>software, and we came to the conclusion it is a complete pile of shit.
>>We didn't design Quake for real life themes, so please don't abuse our
>>game.
>>
>>Sincerely,
>>John Carmack,
>>id software.
>>
>>
>====================================================================
========
>============
>http://www.multiplayerquake.com/mpq-cgi/MPQCGI.EXE?VIEW=VIEWCOMMENTS
&REVIEW_
>LINK=16869
>====================================================================
========
>============

#5 Mapping Team...
by satanix 29/11/2000 - 23:00:29 (65.33.83.71)
Go to top of page  
Besides, the mapping team for iD software`s Quake 1 was: Tim Willits, John Romero, Sandy Peterson, and American McGee (?). Tim Willits is now the current teams lead mapper. Not John Carmack. So next time do a little research before so you don`t get put down.

Later,

SaTaNiX

(Member of Clan QMD)
Perpetual Energy is just a sample of what I can do. Once/If I get feedback on it, I will begin a new project.

#6 You have to expect dicks to post on the site...
by Paul 30/11/2000 - 04:30:15 (212.158.46.242)
Go to top of page  
...and I did. When you're dealing with kids you'll get shit. Anyway, most of its funny.

#7 Speaking on behalf of id software.
by American McGee 30/11/2000 - 09:47:39 (194.112.32.102)
Go to top of page  
Satanix and Browser, you sirs, should have more respect for my ex-colleagues. Although John C. did not make any maps, he followed the mapping side of the project with great interest and was well aware of the quality gameplay we achieved. And Mister Romero, despite his recent projects, is more than capable of making a judgement based on his mapping and designing experience.

Myself, I believe my own mapping experience at id software, including Quake's DM2 and DM4, which many players hold in high regard, makes me qualified to say that Rich_bar totally fucking blows.

Thank you,
American McGee,
Lead designer,
Rogue Entertainment.

#8 Fuck you Paul.
by Shambler 30/11/2000 - 13:31:13 (194.112.32.102)
Go to top of page  
You fucking obnoxious killjoy nazi fun-spoiling cunt. This is no fucking way to run a site and you know it. Fuck off you utter fucking twat, you've lost my support and patronage. Wanker.

#9 Hi..
by Kable 30/11/2000 - 15:03:37 (213.122.247.254)
Go to top of page  
I'm Duke Nukem.

That was one of the things Duke Nukem was good for. Real life settings.

#10 American McGee...
by satanix 30/11/2000 - 15:39:41 (65.33.83.71)
Go to top of page  
I may have bought then, but then you threw in, "...totally fucking blows." No iD software member would ever say that about the creation of a map for their own game. The real designers believe that the mapping aspect is up to the designers belief. If the designer believes that is the kind of map that is fun for him, he can make it, and the real designers would accept that, even if to everyone else it does suck. They would not express feelings in such a manner that it pulls down on the respect of Rogue Entertainment/iD Software. Good attempt though.

Sincerely,

SaTaNiX

#11 Can I point out
by Paul 30/11/2000 - 16:08:31 (213.120.62.70)
Go to top of page  
that post 8 is because I removed all the posts early and Shambler took it pretty badly.

I've put them back so we can all see what an ass hes making of himself.

#12 heh
by killjoy 30/11/2000 - 20:36:49 (198.115.164.187)
Go to top of page  
heh, i resent being called that, shambler. btw, this thread is funnier than "maps i made"... if only QMD was available for further comments...

-kj

#13 Warning Mr. Shambler
by Nerf 30/11/2000 - 23:31:21 (141.222.155.39)
Go to top of page  
Obviously members of id software have hacked your computer and are using your IP address to post annoying and utterly retarded comments on MPQ. Be careful as they could in time make you sound like a whiner with too much free time even for an FPS devotee :P

(yes -this- is tongue in cheek ;))

#14 what a riot
by BlackPope 01/12/2000 - 17:53:33 (209.52.215.23)
Go to top of page  
This whole thread is just a big funny comedy...
I'm surprised how many people actually didn't see through it right away
...even If they did see through... then why the hell would they reply???
whatever... it's funny stuff...
and shambler once again succeded at instigating more nonsense...
kudos!

roflmao BP

#15 You are all wankers
by GrindSpire 01/12/2000 - 18:10:43 (213.122.251.146)
Go to top of page  
LOOK YOU FUCKING RETARDS, WHY ARE YOU ONLY POSTING ON THE COMMENTS FOR THIS MAP. I AM A REVIEWER HERE AND WITHOUT PRETENDING TO BE ANYONE ELSE I CAN TELL YOU THAT THIS MAP BLOWS GOATS, I BET YOU HAVEN'T EVEN LOOKED AT AN OTHER CUSTOM MAPS, IF YOU HAD YOU WOULD SEE HOW SHIT THIS MAP IS. NOW FUCK OFF AND PLAY SOME GOOD MAPS THEN COME BACK. IF NOT, THEN GET THE FUCK OUT OF HERE YOU WANKER. ACCORDING TO YOU A FULLBRIGHT BOX WOULD BE FUN IF THE DESIGNER THOUGHT IT WAS. THAT IS BOLLOCKS, I REPEAT, THIS MAP SUCKS ARSE. IF YOU WANT TO TELL ME WHAT MAKES THIS MAP BETTER THAN STUFF LIKE EFDM12 AND BALDM8 THEN PLEASE POST. AND SURELY IF YOU ARE ALLOWED TO LIKE THIS MAP, THEN PEOPLE ARE ALLOWED TO THINK IT IS WANK! (LIKE I DO!)

#16 Tail between legs and all that...
by Shambler 01/12/2000 - 18:18:59 (194.112.32.102)
Go to top of page  
Okay, since Paul has put the comments back, I apologise for that torrent of abuse. I got pissed off because I found the spoofs above - and especially Browser's reaction - very funny (and no, John "Romeo" is not me), and didn't see the need to have them removed. I should have just ignored it, I'm sorry I posted abuse in this case.

******
This was a Shambler apology. The next Shambler apology is scheduled in 8 years time.
******

#17 OMFG!
by GrindSpire 02/12/2000 - 05:12:42 (193.113.185.130)
Go to top of page  
That can't be right! Shambler apologised!

#18 Well even out in the deepest depths...
by Paul 02/12/2000 - 05:18:42 (62.7.5.42) Refers to post #16
Go to top of page  
...of the english countryside I still have access to the internet.

So does this mean I'm not a "utter fucking twat" any more?

#19 Deepest depths?
by GrindSpire 02/12/2000 - 05:26:58 (193.113.185.130) Refers to post #18
Go to top of page  
Where are you? And it isn't hard, I manage it

#20 Peacp
by DaMaul 02/12/2000 - 09:55:10 (212.187.138.174)
Go to top of page  
I can't believe that arsehole wrote to Todd Hollenshead and complained that people were pretending to be John Carmack! Wow! I mean, get a life quickly....

#21 Re: PEacp
by Christofern 02/12/2000 - 12:33:37 (141.222.155.39) Refers to post #20
Go to top of page  
No, what's worse is that it looks like he couldn't tell for sure if Id software members were posting here and had to email TSH just to be certain :)

#22 Todd Hollenshead doesn't like titles
by Todd Hollenshead 02/12/2000 - 16:03:56 (212.140.218.88)
Go to top of page  
While I'm greatful that Browser [L5M] took the time to point out this act of deception to us, I have to say that he appears to be something of a clueless fuckwit. In fact I might go so far as to say 'some sort of cunt'

Proof, as if indeed any were needed, that we really can't control message boards and the stupid shit people decide to post on then.

tsh

#23 laughs till bollocks drop off
by CardO 03/12/2000 - 10:25:06 (213.122.207.244)
Go to top of page  
LOL, i like it alot =o)

#24 wow.
by Malevola 03/12/2000 - 11:05:01 (209.198.114.139)
Go to top of page  
aww c'mon you guys. it isn't THAT bad. I mean, there are MUCH worse maps out there and they didn't get this much attention. I mean, you guys remember the original maldm1, right? I know shambler does. in fact, I think he's the only one that looked at it. that was back in the good ol days of frib's board. man, I've been around longer than I thought.

ps:
/me w33bs Browser. fuckwit.

</mal>

#25 THis is the funniest shit I've ever read
by nitin 04/12/2000 - 19:44:14 (203.62.183.3)
Go to top of page  
ps : Mal, I think the map's getting more attention because the author keeps on insisting how good it is without listening to anyone else.

#26 Thank you Paul & Fatty
by QuakeMapDesigner 06/12/2000 - 01:16:41 (24.200.48.151)
Go to top of page  
Hi all,

I would like to thanks Fat Controller who took the time to review this level I've done, RICH_BAR. Thanks also to Paul who pushed me to submit my level here
when I was in #terrafusion.

No matter if this review is good or not, I've heard from many people saying the
most important is to do what you like. I do editing from the only knowledge of
it from the book I've read, that came with the editor I bought in 1996-1997,
Deathmatch Maker version 1.0 from Virtus Software. For the people who ever
tryed that editor knows the fact of the totally non support and explication that
were inside the small thinny book came with the editor. There is still many things
with DMM (DeathMatch Maker) that I don't understand because I use to make my
maps by putting those brushes until I get something looks like what I plan to
make in my head. Let's say visualisation.

My goal was not to be some kinda King with my levels or trying to eat the
popularity of somebody. I did them because I really enjoy making them. Where
I feel good is, when the level I make "looks like" what I was planning to make.
Let's say if I would like to make the grocery of my uncle he got before he took
his pension, if I bring him one night home and show him his grocery and his
eyes gets open wide and he starts to tell me before I explain to him what things
and things is in the map, my goal would part of it reached. That is the most im-
portant for me. That's what I did with my hospital map ( CHQMD ) and my ( RICH_BAR ), but not that much with Y2K_CTF ( funny CD-ROM but on many other
Beta version of it I did many other cool things that some people may remember
with the map KEYBB08.BSP ).

I can't say I CAN make gothic maps, because i never did one. I just don't feel
fun to make those. Maybe it's too complicated for me to make one and that's
why I don't give a try specially when the editor I use keeps crashing without
warning each 20-30 minutes.

Until I will use the editor DMM (DeathMatch Maker), I don't think so I could make
any decent maps having a good marks here ( or anywhere). I submitted my map
because I was curious, specially when it's your first time you submit something.
I do accept now all of your reaction and I do approve them. I will learn from my
mistake. But I can't force myself to make something I don't like.

More about RICH_BAR now; if you read the .txt file, I've started that map a way
too long time ago. Some of the bright textures were also made long time ago.
I still also dont understand why those textures are bright when I loaded that
palette of Quake in my Paint Shop Pro. If those textures are so ugly in software
mode, why do they put it so in the palette? To correct that problem I remember
I saw somewhere on a site, a modified version of that palette to eliminate ( not
available ) those colors...
I design, test & play my maps only in GlQuake. So I have no clue how will looks
like the map in software mode ( is that Software Mode means, starting Quake
with Q95.bat, no GlQuake?). I have a Pentium 100, Quake installed in the other
room here but I'm always too loafer to try it there ( maybe I should do if I'm planifying to submit another map here at MPQ ).


Peace all,

QuakeMapDesigner
"where imagination means Levels!"
http://pages.infinit.net/quakemap

#27 re: Thank you Paul & Fatty
by Paul 06/12/2000 - 03:11:39 (212.140.29.242) Refers to post #26
Go to top of page  
Yes software mode is just good old normal Quake, ie Quake.exe or WinQuake.exe.

Just remember that your maps will be accepted here for review. They may spark a fair bit of abuse but you are in fact getting more public recognition, in an ironic sort of way. If you enjoy mapping then keep at it and you should improve with time.

Btw, I'm just wondering why all your posts come out messed up? From the looks of it you're hitting enter at the end of each line. There's no need to do it since the site will sort that out for you. Might be worth you knowing that, if you put any more posts on the site.

#28 Hitting ENTER..
by QuakeMapDesigner 13/12/2000 - 04:04:44 (24.200.48.151) Refers to post #27
Go to top of page  
Hi Paul,

Thanks for your comments. Yes, i was hitting ENER jey all the time or sometimes when i reached the end of the line. I won't do anymore.

Later, QuakeMap.

#29 Still here...
by XeNoN 24/05/2001 - 14:19:00 (212.126.141.24)
Go to top of page  
This map's a f00king classic!

#30 LOL!
by StarBUCK 27/05/2001 - 14:47:02 (213.122.54.201)
Go to top of page  
Obvious fake postings, and classic overreacting by fools! Hehe, this thread is great!

#31 I damn thee!!
by Jesus Christ 27/05/2001 - 14:56:59 (213.122.54.201)
Go to top of page  
I played the above level and i found it so bad i am damning it to hell. Obviously the mapper who made this is such a f******g load of f****** s*** f****** a*** w******g s*** m*****f***** that im gonna take this holy bible and ram it up his f***** a** !!!

P.S. Obviously IAM the REAL son of god as i have typed the words 'Jesus Christ' into the 'Nick Name' field. No one else could have done this. Peace out and spread the love my brothers!

_________________
StarBUCK (oops)

#32 Another hoax!
by [DIK]Wanker 04/09/2001 - 18:05:47 (213.1.10.235) Refers to post #31
Go to top of page  
Since I don't believe for one moment that the last post was really from Jesus H Christ, I emailed Jesus to ask him whether or not he had been posting on this board. Here is his reply:


RE: spoof mb posts using your name!
"Dear Wanker,
Of course it wasn't posted by me, I died for you sins 2000 years ago. I can't control what people are doing on message boards 2000 years after my death. My dad could probably help out here but I don't think it's worth wasting his time with.

Please, get a life.

Cheers,

Jesus"

See, you are so stupid.

-Wanker

#33 ^rofl
by XeNoN 06/10/2001 - 05:37:24 (212.126.132.105) Refers to post #32
Go to top of page  
my sides were splitting there

Add your Comments below. Go to top of page
Nick Name :
Email Address :
Refers to Post :
Title :
Comments :

MPQ Design by James Kable Healey.
CGI code by Paul Healey
CGI and Content Copyright Paul Healey 2001/2000/1999/1998
with the exception of reviews which are copyright of the author.
Design Copyright Kable Kreations 2001/2000