The Elder Sanctuary

4 - 10 Players players | Reviewed by DaZ - Monday 1st October 2001 @ 7:29pm

You can spot a Tronyn map a mile off, gorgeous curves, wide open spaces, great use of sunlight and original designs. "The Elder Sanctuary" carries this impressive reputation on in style with some very nice large hilly areas surrounding a huge fort or church. There is also a network of underwater tunnels for further connection choices. This would have made one hell of a single player map...

...And thats the problem unfortunately, Tronyn just cant seem to crack the DM nutshell. The wide open spaces dont work well in DM and the sheer volume and size of the map doesn't help it either. Sure you can cram 10 players in and run around a little, but the map just feels like a single player map, feels like it was not built for DM at all.

It has some good points though. Item placement is nice and balanced, good positioning of armours and heavy duty weapons makes the map better, but it still cannot escape its firm single player roots.


2.0 out of 5.0

Download 772Kb - 839 downloads | readme | Tronyn | Author Site

#21. gameplay vs looks... ^

by Drannerz - Saturday 27th October 2001 @ 11:54am (143.52.2.45)

It's debatable how you balance the two when scoring a map. Maps may be made to play well, but gameplay can be the result of luck rather than skill. And in turn, looks might not make the map but they demonstrate the skill of the author.

MPQ tend to favour gameplay: It's scores the maps entirely on how good they are.
As a contrast to this, when I review at RQ I tend to favour looks: I score the maps on how much skill it took to make them (that's not to say that good gameplay doesn't require skill to create).

Whichever way you agree with (or maybe you disagree with both and have another way to score maps) It's good to have two review sites giving different opinions.

#22. Well.. ^

by Tronyn - Saturday 27th October 2001 @ 4:48pm (24.66.247.146)

That's gay, they all load fine in all versions of Quake for me. Argh.
Though in many cases I prefer software Quake (with higher resolutions of course), because it looks grittier and handles lighting *much* better, in my opinion.
That's too bad though because I think House really beats out Purity, which may look a bit nice but has a really simple layout... House and Dogs are the good ones...

#23. agreed ^

by Asaki - Tuesday 6th November 2001 @ 8:07pm (24.4.252.147)

Yeah, if maps were rated by looks, my Base of Two Deaths would have a REALLY low score ;D

#24. =) ^

by MisYu - Friday 11th January 2002 @ 10:41am (213.76.244.129)

Comparing Tronyn's map score (2) to Nekroe's Poste Haste (3.5/5) and Tronyn's map construction/architecture/size/feel to the same thing from Nekroe's suggest me to ban scores =)

#25. or just fatty from writing reviews... ^

by xen - Sunday 27th January 2002 @ 2:05pm (194.117.133.196)

.

#26. Actually ^

by Tronyn - Monday 4th February 2002 @ 9:24pm (24.66.247.146)

I want to radically improve play in this one, especially for bots, for the final SoE projects. Anyone got any suggestions before this finally goes off of the "recent" (lol) reviews?

Would you like to comment?

All you need to do is create an account or login.