Chanthood

2 to 4 players | Reviewed by Fat Controller - Saturday 10th February 2001 @ 2:02am

At first glance this runic-style map appears to be decked in classic id metal, but look again: Kingpin textures adorn the walls, while id metal acts as trim. There are also swathes of discoloured planking, which looks a little strange at first. However, you'll soon get used to it.

Architecturally, it's a large two-level atrium with a split level floor and three side pods holding stairwells and heavy weapons. Curved buttresses and cutouts in the walls frame nice views of the blood red sky. This is a relatively simple, straightforward layout and you'll know it like the back of your hand in no time.

Low end/software users should give this map a miss due to r_speed issues: in the central atrium there's almost constant greyflash if you look along the long diagonal. R_speeds tended to reach 700 and above. On my box anyway.

DM is a slugfest with people running inside for weapons and outside again for ammo and fraggies. If your system can handle it, give the map a whirl.

A Single Player version is included which blocks off the stairwells, and you have to get runes, kill all monsters, repeat until the exit opens. Great stuff.


3.0 out of 5.0

Download 538Kb - 1035 downloads | readme | Shaun "Kona" Ross | Author Site

#1. ooooooooooooooh ^

by DaZ - Sunday 11th February 2001 @ 11:58am (62.7.56.99)

I love the build style of this map. [kona] please please please make a larger SP map in this style cos it would look so sw33m :) As a Dm map it plays nicely 1 on 1 and is very tactical. Nice job, but I want bigger!! :)

#2. i change my mind.. ^

by CardO - Sunday 11th February 2001 @ 12:18pm (213.122.50.152)

when u showed me the beta of this map i hates the textures, but now they make me jizm! i love it [Kona] ! mmmmmm jizm.

#3. software :) ^

by Fern - Sunday 11th February 2001 @ 12:25pm (141.222.155.61)

When I played the fast-vised beta, the entire screen was grey :)
<[Kona]> How did you play it?
Very carefully

#4. Fatty and his revs... ^

by XeNoN - Tuesday 13th February 2001 @ 5:35pm (212.126.141.28)

They all seem to be a bit vague, and always offerring "3/5" or other average marks. I would have preffered a more detailed review.

But the map? Looks great, plays poorly. More effort should have been put in designing the layout, with speed in mind.

Overall I guess I would have given it 3, so I guess I'm contradicting myself. Oh well. Shoot me later.

#5. Faulty Rubber Throttle Cable Grommets ^

by Fat Controller - Wednesday 14th February 2001 @ 5:05am (203.96.111.200)

(sorry, I can't get it out of my head)

Actually, I tend to look for the better parts of maps, which is strange since I'm very much the faulty rubber throttle cable grommet - sorry, pessimist.

Yes, Kona's map is unplayable in a serious game on my system, but the architecture was good. Maybe I'm overcompensating for my faulty rubber throttle cable grommet - damn it! low end computer.

Back when MPQ was on PlanetQuake, I did more 4-5 star reviews; maybe it's time I was more extreme in my reviewing, like CHQMD.

Would you like to comment?

All you need to do is create an account or login.