Attack Vector

1-on-1, 3-ffa players | Reviewed by Paul - Wednesday 6th December 2000 @ 5:11pm

This is an impressive first map from CardO. Borrowing one or two Quake 2 textures gives the map an industrial gritty feel. It's heavily grey and brown coloured what with the diamond brown floor tiling and pseudo-indented grey wall panelling. Its not all doom and gloom though there is a dash of greenery, which can be seen in the maps only outdoor section.

I do feel though that there is too much variation in the texturing. There are two short corridor sections decorated out in efdm12 style textures which looks plain odd given how the rest of the map looks. And I seem to remember one of the maps testers mentioning this to CardO… wink, wink, nudge, nudge, say no more. There are also a couple of dodgy looking textures, and unfortunately some of the alignment isn't up to scratch when the textures at different floor levels meet up. That said if you look at the patterns on these adjoining textures it would be impossible to match them up without putting in some kind of joining texture.

Anyway, there are 2 main sections to the map, both of which can be seen in the screen shots dotted about the review. The huge tubular construction you see in the indoor area is open for people to dive into and then to be hurtled at a great rate of knots through a barrage of tubing out into the outdoor area of the map from the gapping hole on the right, across to the platform containing the Quad. It's definitely a novel feature, and an extremely nice way of connecting the map up.

Not that connectivity is a problem here. Far from it. Everything seems scaled right, there's plenty of space to jiggle about in and lots of shortcuts to be taken. Rjumping is a big help here and certainly cuts down on travelling time. Along with lots and lots and lots of steps and staircases are teleporters, and the odd wind tunnel.

Lighting is ok. Most of the indoor lighting is bright enough, but outside, it's a different story. There are a couple of dark patches, which make it a little hard to spot other players sometimes.

And speaking of players, the aforementioned openness of the map makes it a riot to play. One of my favourite duelling moments was running backwards around the open wind tunnel in the indoor area whilst blasting rockets back at my opponent. Then dodging back and forth around it, dropping 'nades and waiting for the death shower of gibs to appear.

Again, this is another FFA kinda map. Teamplay would no doubt work, but I didn't try it out.


3.5 out of 5.0

Download 490Kb - 623 downloads | readme | CardO | no author site

#1. Bane is afraid of typing too much ^

by Bane - Wednesday 6th December 2000 @ 9:09pm (62.252.160.4)

Doesnt beat Rooms tho does it little bro...hehe

#2. Not bad.. ^

by maiden - Wednesday 6th December 2000 @ 10:24pm (141.117.249.19)

Not bad at all.

Say Paul, is there any way you can change the review format so that the comments appear right with the review (doesn't that make more sense?)

#3. Hey Cardo ^

by Yogi - Thursday 7th December 2000 @ 12:38am (172.137.85.86)

I'm downloading this puppy right now, just wanted to congratulate you on finally finishing and releasing a map! I knew you could do it!! hehe. Keep it up and roll on with carddm2.

#4. re : Not Bad ^

by Paul - Thursday 7th December 2000 @ 2:56am (212.140.4.133)

Nope, it doesn't make sense :).

#6. /me slaps Yogi ^

by Paul - Thursday 7th December 2000 @ 4:08am (212.158.46.214)

Where have you been? You seemed to disappear for a while there. You weren't off stealing pic-a-nic baskets were you?

#7. W0w... ^

by Shambler - Thursday 7th December 2000 @ 4:34am (194.112.32.102)

After all this fannying about, arseing around, and generally giving the impression your maps would be Duke4Everware, you actually made and released something AND it looks pretty cool. I will check it out when I can, but congratulations anyway!!

#8. Ah... ^

by Yogi - Thursday 7th December 2000 @ 7:08am (172.137.85.86)

Well I just played the map a little there, and what can I say.. I'm impressed Dan! I remember seeing this map a while back and didn't look half as good as it does now, so it was a nice surprise to see that you had totally retextured it before release :)

Plays good too btw, keep it up bud!

#9. Beans on toast ^

by Yogi - Thursday 7th December 2000 @ 7:21am (172.137.85.86)

Hey Paul, aye.. I finally got done by the coppers for nicking picnic baskets, I guess I stole one too many? And at this time of year not many people sit outdoors to have a picnic anyways, well not if they’re perfectly sane and plan surviving the winter. So I guess it’s back to my hibernation then. :)

Oh, I got a little Quake 1 map in the works (I don’t know if you read my .plan updates?), and I’ll be looking for beta testers; interested? It’s a small – tight – vertical map covered in, dare I say it – the IKBASE set :) So I’m sure everyone will just hate it because of that fact.. hehe. Let me know if you’d want to crash dummy it sometime.

Catch ya later, oh, and the sites looking/working good, and the site logo finally grew on me.. I never thought I'd see the day!

#10. Well card0... ^

by Malevola - Thursday 7th December 2000 @ 7:32am (198.115.167.172)

The map is better than the beta I saw, taking out those bars on the ends of those hallways over that teleporter near the RA was a good idea, I just think you shoulda made that jump a bit easier. maybe if you angled those walls so the lip stuck out further or just made a longer lip. I like jumping over stuff like that. like the jumps in ZTNdm1 or whichever it was. I think it was 1. bah, maybe I should go check his page.

I'm also disappointed at the lack of n3470 53(R37x0rZ! I think there shoulda been a sweet near-impossible rocketjump to something useless like a ringofshadows. (pronounced "ringo fhaddoes"). well, I haven't played it as I was only able to sneek a peek in fear of having been discovered playing "INTERNET QUAKE!" by my mother. heh. spaz. Luckily I had "turned off internet" before I went to check it out so she wouldn't know I was on the line. muahaha. too r33t!

btw, the texturing, close enough m8. those two notched textures actually lined up to make a pretty sweet pattern.

good job cardoh. maybe next time some reet seecreets is it?

Would you like to comment?

All you need to do is create an account or login.