Efdm12 - Death by the Dozen

6 to 12 players | Reviewed by Paul - Wednesday 18th October 2000 @ 10:20am

No guesses for what I think of this map. It's in the site logo for a start! Basically I love high tech style maps. It simply looks good. The detail and intricacy in the textures already gives the map a head start in that respect. The architecture is very strong and sturdy. It juts and moves about in varying directions from very angular to curved. It is actually very hard to explain just how good it all looks.

The layout also differs from Fribs last two small sized maps. This time the setting is on a much grander scale and there are several distinct areas (although there only 4 main sections, it seems like more) making the map suitable for large FFA's or 5v5+ teamplay games. Connectivity is king here with every area offering more than enough exits and escape routes, not that you should need them :).

Getting yourself armed shouldn't present you with a problem. There is more than amble weaponry and ammunition. The strong weapons do most of the damage here with the lower ranked taking a back seat.

Movement is effortless and is this compounded by the bots excellent navigation. They don't head out into the rocky outside area, mentioned in more detail below, but they seem to get around everywhere else!

The lighting is amazing given the maps almost colourless completion. There are very obvious changes in light and dark. Shadows are easily apparent against the bright beaming lights. Maybe it is because of the grey setting it shows up so well.

Those of you who do manage to venture outside (in the maps only outdoor section) will be presented with a Pentagram of Protection and if you look a little further, a fish textured switch, something common in his recent maps. More power ups are present with the Ring of Shadows perched on a window ledge and the Quad damage is a merge, albeit well timed, rjump away.


5.0 out of 5.0

Download 526Kb - 1359 downloads | readme | Mr Fribbles | Author Site

#1. double value ^

by excessus - Wednesday 18th October 2000 @ 6:37pm (62.83.104.170)

Mr. Fribbles maps are always a guarantee of instant fun and long-term gameplay, but in my opinion, this one has some very, very nice spots where architecture really enlighten the overall feeling of the level; and MPQ guys, screenshots showns here are not fair!

#2. supremo ^

by BlackPope - Wednesday 18th October 2000 @ 7:52pm (209.52.215.22)

This is one of my favourite levels... I have no bitches about it at all...'cept maybe due to my retardness I couldn't find the outdoor area for quite sometime... If you don't have this map on your HD yet you are missing out on something extravagant BP

#3. ... ^

by wrath - Wednesday 18th October 2000 @ 8:56pm (212.151.144.238)

my only complaint is that I constantly feel like I'm in a maze when playing this one. perhaps it's just electric gold-fish memory, but I never know where the fuck I'm gonna come out when I run through a passage or whatever...

#4. great map. ^

by tron - Friday 20th October 2000 @ 5:10am (202.7.186.5)

Looks great, plays great, is great.

#5. Excellent ^

by GibFest - Sunday 22nd October 2000 @ 8:39am (193.113.185.162)

I reviewed this on my last site that I had and I absolutely loved it, it's great for some big teamplay action or just a massive FFA, whatever you like just download this map it rocks.

#6. It flat out owns me, this map... ^

by Bilirubin - Tuesday 7th November 2000 @ 12:05pm (142.150.11.37)

and no other gets as many comments from players on my server. Well done!

#7. I kiss your feet Frib ^

by DaZ - Tuesday 20th February 2001 @ 11:18pm (213.1.63.196)

Damn this map just well and truely 0wnz. if there is one map that defines "flawless Dm play" then this is it. Well done Mr Fribbles...

#8. /me bows in reverence ^

by Amrik - Saturday 21st July 2001 @ 8:51pm (196.32.48.153)

seems that fish button is becoming very popular. Good stuff frib!

#10. Genius ^

by Ashley Lauren - Sunday 19th August 2001 @ 3:49pm (24.10.94.211)

This map is a true work of art !
I've long been a fan of the Electric Fish Deathmatch Series and this wraps up the series nicely ! Thanks for all the excellent maps over the years Frib !

Would you like to comment?

All you need to do is create an account or login.