Old Crater

2 to 4 players | Reviewed by xen - Tuesday 7th May 2002 @ 4:06pm

Paraboil's maps have often been praised for providing high quality gameplay, if not shining in the looks department. Sadly, this new release is an exception. Consisting simply of a large enclosed hole with a thin ledge around the sides and some rocky stepping-stones floating in lava, it's hardly a work of art construction wise. The bland lighting, limited textures (I counted four, including the lava & sky) and complete lack of detail fail to enhance, too.

Looks aren't the only thing that are minimal however; items are a tad thin on the quantity front, with the map offering one red armour... and nothing else. No matter what the playerload, the only purpose of playing seems to be for practising shotgun-aiming skills, although it's easy to run out of shells unless you get killed (which isn't difficult considering the amount of inescapable lava on the premesis).

It's fun for about a minute but the novelty soon wears off.

(Note from Paul : blame me for the review screenshots.)


0.5 out of 5.0

Download 77Kb - 977 downloads | readme | ParboiL | Author Site

#21. wrong mode ^

by Fr3n - Saturday 11th May 2002 @ 8:35am (66.31.244.127)

While everyone seems to agree with the first half of my post (You need to play on mode 4) it seems few also subscribe to the second (Not that this will make it suck any less.) Any piece of crap on this site scoring 0-0.5 is theoretically "fun" in DMM4 when you're drunk smoking crack waist deep in cash surrounded by naked women with big titties but this does not make the map "good." To try redeeming a map by saying it's "good" in DMM4 is on the same level as saying it compiled properly or it has lights in it. That's just not enough for anything but the smallest credit.

(I'm not bashing ParboiL, I like some of his other maps, but this makes me go WTF every time I look :))

#22. ffs ^

by Electro - Saturday 11th May 2002 @ 10:19am (210.50.30.6)

it's meant for dmm4
get over it ;)

#23. rofl ^

by DaZ - Saturday 11th May 2002 @ 8:20pm (213.122.168.89)

Fern :)

(ps. cunt...)

#25. Was it done with Deathmatch Maker Editor? ^

by QMD - Monday 13th May 2002 @ 8:24pm (192.149.228.96)

Hi Parboil,

When I first look at this map, I tough it got made with my old crap editor. I'm surprise that anybody here are using words like "pile of shit" and so on, like it happen to me, SaTaNiX and some others I think.

For people who were complaining about being too picky about architectur, are you gonna tell me this map is a pure classic of architectur? What is the real definition of "big pile of shit" finally?

I don't wanna blast anybody here, I'm just surprise of the special treatment Parboil gets with this review without any too much flaming.

People are getting civilized now or what? Improve your skillz ok, but improve also your personnality too.

AMEN.

QMD.

#26. ... ^

by Starbuck_ - Tuesday 14th May 2002 @ 1:40pm (194.117.133.196)

erm was that an ironic double post?

#29. QMD vs ParboiL !!! ^

by CardO - Tuesday 14th May 2002 @ 2:24pm (62.253.64.4)

r4wk! fight fight!

QMD, i think that ppl aren't insulting ParboiL as much because he's had a few decent releases and ppl know that he does have it in him to make something better than this. I guess we're just curious as to why he released this modern classic to the world :D (not that i've played it)

#30. Oh.. ^

by ParboiL - Wednesday 15th May 2002 @ 3:28am (195.131.95.61)

When I have created this map - I wrote in the letter that it is test release - me interestingly as the people will react to such architecture of a map. If the map has liked - I would make beautiful variant.
But............me have not understood :(

Would you like to comment?

All you need to do is create an account or login.