Hatebreeder

1-on-1 players | Reviewed by xen - Monday 13th May 2002 @ 6:07pm

Now listen up there, guys; THIS is how to make a quality map! As just one of the great Prolific Polish Quake Mapping Force (PPQMF), Qurnel has churned out many an excellent release over the past few years, this being his 20th released map, and that's not including the PlPak contributions! He ain't no Rocketman though, all of his maps have been of at least recommendable quality, many of them highly so. 'Hatebreeder' is undoubtedly his best release to date.

Why so, I hear you ask? It just excells in all fields; firstly, the style is one I have never seen before, combining the techy IKbase textures with ID's gloomy medieval brick, all executed very well. Some natural elements have been included too, such as the odd bit of rock and grass, which always makes for some interesting variety as well as providing a subtle touch of realism. The monotone texture combination is further enhanced by some lovely sourced lighting, which along with neat 'broken' wall sections, add to the overall detail level nicely. Architecture is nothing spectacular, but is nonetheless well constructed and neat, with good use of angles. There's also some crates if you're into that sort of thing.

Secondly, connectivity throughout the map is remarkably varied and hassle-free. Just about every area is overlooked by another and is accessible in various ways. Lifts and teleports are put to use well, and aerial leaping between ledges is common when running about the map. Rocket-jumpers can rejoice too, with trick-jumping often providing a nifty shortcut or two between floors. The verticality is at no point extreme, but many sections provide plenty of 3d gameplay, often putting the GL to great use. There are of course tighter, more enclosed rooms and corridors though, which provide extra balance between the available weapons. Good usage of dead-end sections has also been made to add further variety to the gameplay. Layout-wise, several have compared it to Peej's awesome 'Strafin' series, and although certain influences are recognisable, no areas are distinctively reminiscent.

Finally, the gameplay. Needless to say, 4 player FFA is a blast, taking into account the map's freely connected nature. Camping is near-impossible, and the large range of playing areas provokes plenty of different tactics and playing styles. 1on1 also excells, with remarkably balanced supplies and weaponary. The only noticable flaw is that it is quite possible to dominate both RLs, but seeing as the ground floor is usually most vulnerable, it is seldom a problem when the action heats up.

I know it's a high score, but the author has earned every last fraction of it. It's the icing on the cake that is Qurnel's map catalogue, and also stands as an excellent map in it's own right. Essential.


5.0 out of 5.0

Download 368Kb - 1532 downloads | readme | QurneL | Author Site

#21. Gom Jabbar ate the title ^

by Gom Jabbar - Wednesday 15th May 2002 @ 7:26am (212.185.248.124)

/me slaps the polish turd of MisYu around a bit with a large trout

But onto the map: This map is really nice, but not 5/5 nice. It looks rather unique and it got some interesting bits but I played it yesterday against humans and... well... I found it rather boring...

#22. I is a idiot ^

by Drannerz^ - Wednesday 15th May 2002 @ 11:13am (143.52.2.90)

This map seems to change the more I play it. And the more I play it, the less I like it. Still good though. 4/5.

#23. . ^

by xen - Wednesday 15th May 2002 @ 7:18pm (194.117.133.196)

Paul, just change the score :/

#24. HOW MANY TIMES... ^

by DaZ - Wednesday 15th May 2002 @ 8:01pm (213.1.191.199)

DO PEOPLE HAVE TO SAY THIS -

THE SCORE IS A ***ROUGH*** IDEA ON HOW GOOD THE MAP IS!

So if YOU think it aint 5/5 then go shag a dead pig until it squeals with delight, ffs u all really piss me off!!

#25. . ^

by Scampie - Thursday 16th May 2002 @ 1:41am (66.231.198.47)

xen: stand behind your opinions or don't have any man. you think the map is awesome and gave it a 5. myself and dranz think it's a 4. we all gave our reasons and it's all the better for anyone who wants to download the map.

so far, nobodys insulted you or your review. please stop taking peoples disagreement with your opinion personally.

Daz: calm down. nobody flamed yelling "CHANGE THE SCORE DAMNIT MPQ SUXXXXX!!!!!!!!! (daz is teh homosexual)" besides, other than me, it was your better personality that disagreed with the score. :P


big hug now?

#26. No score changing. ^

by Paul @ Work - Thursday 16th May 2002 @ 4:12am (213.122.53.142)

xen : Scampie actually said something very sensible and in this case is right :P. People will disagree, if they don't like a review or the score a map got, that's their problem. If you've backed up the score with what was written in the review then there shouldn't be a problem.

Btw, you'll get the same thing happening when RQ opens with all its message board stuff. So my advice is, carry on with the reviews (since you are doing a good job) and don't take the comments so hard.

#27. Gom Jabbar is afraid of typing too much ^

by Gom Jabbar - Thursday 16th May 2002 @ 5:28am (212.185.248.122)

xen: Jupp, I do think the same as Paul and Scampie. As I just posted on "Evil Space Hamsters": It's just opinions! Wouldn't it be boring if every opinion would be the same?

#28. True, but... ^

by xen - Thursday 16th May 2002 @ 11:20am (194.117.133.196)

It's all fine having different opinions on a place like Qmap, but this is a review site, and the reviews/scores are meant for global recommendation. You wouldn't have wanted someone who thought 'Ecstasie' was a piece of genius to write it's review and score it high, for instance.

The thing is, it's hard balancing out your own opinions with a more apathetic view that's needed when writing reviews; you can only judge by personal taste, but for the actual review, you're scoring/recommending the map according to the majority's preference, and thus need to word things differently and alter the score.

I'll admit that I screwed up here and on evil.bsp - for these two maps I based maybe 70-80% of my scoring on the enjoyability and balance of the gameplay, as that's the quality I value most in deathmatch. However, I've learnt that the majority of Q1DM players here value awesome and original layouts, impressive architecture, clean looks and unique styles alot more than I do.

It's a valuable lesson for RQ, I suppose. I can only guess Paul learnt from experience.

/me knocks off a star from the v2dc review

#29. nah... ^

by Drannerz= - Thursday 16th May 2002 @ 11:47am (143.52.2.80)

...I don't think reviewers should pander to the views of others. If you have an opinion, go for (and stand by it). I think it works well with sites like this cos it gets people talking.

Keep it up, xen.

#30. Gom Jabbar ate the title ^

by Gom Jabbar - Thursday 16th May 2002 @ 11:58am (212.185.248.120)

Jupp, DrannerZ is absolutely right!

Would you like to comment?

All you need to do is create an account or login.